Wiretap

Reply
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 1 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Adding other encoding formats to WTC

2495 Views, 13 Replies
04-22-2009 05:47 AM
We are running WTC 2008 and would like to add more codec support for MPEG2 and MPEG1 but currently it only supports quicktimes from the installation. Can anyone advise if this is possible as I am a newcomer to the app so looking for all the help I can get
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 2 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 05:54 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Hi Simon,

There's no easy way to do this in your version. Some people have hacked the PHP scripts, but this is not really supported.

With the latest release of WiretapCentral (2010) just announced at NAB, you can edit an XML file to add/modify/remove presets to your heart's content. We have also provided additional presets, including an improved H264 export.

There are a ton of other features and enhancements, so be sure to check it out.

Cheers,

Dan
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 3 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:11 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Thanks Dan, as we are only running 2008 on our suites would 2010 WTC still work with our 2008 systems?
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 4 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:11 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Thanks Dan, as we are only running 2008 on our suites would 2010 WTC still work with our 2008 systems?
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 5 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:14 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Encoding would indeed still work, but some of the other newer features (e.g. Import EXR/Red) would not. Note that I don't think we release WiretapCentral with v2008, so you must be talking about 2009, right?
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 6 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:18 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Hi Dan I downloaded ages ago from Autodesk after they launched the app. We are running 2008 build0.90. Another thing is we do have problems with audio some times some clips just does not encode it and other clips do. Any thoughts on this?
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 7 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:22 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Yes, there have been a couple of audio problems. To fix them definitively, you need to upgrade the flame installation to get the latest Wiretap server version. The workaround for now is to make use audio and video start from timecode zero.
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 8 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:24 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
I take it you mean T/C on the clip in Flame that needs exporting needs to be reset to 00:00:00:00 is that source T/C or record T/C?
Valued Contributor
labuted
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎11-17-2006
Message 9 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:27 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
Yes. It's the record TC that needs to be zero. WTC did not handle the offset very well in the first version (i.e. the one you have). There were two bugs ... one related to offset from zero and the other related to A/V offset. Support can probably identify the issues with each version and service pack.
Active Member
SimonPeterArnold
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-22-2009
Message 10 of 14 (2,495 Views)

Re: Adding other encoding formats to WTC

04-22-2009 06:31 AM in reply to: SimonPeterArnold
I will give it a go. When will WTC be available to download?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community