Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 1 of 7 (1,904 Views)
Accepted Solution

tool button image missing

1904 Views, 6 Replies
07-13-2011 08:47 AM

I added a couple of standard Autocad MAP tabs to a custom  panel and in my custom workspace some of the button images don't show up. If I go to the Planning & Analysis workspace, the images are visible, but in the custom workspace, all I get are clouds with a question mark.

I attached two screen shots.

 

Any ideas??

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z400
Xeon W3550 @ 3.07Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,083
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 2 of 7 (1,865 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

07-13-2011 03:11 PM in reply to: mikepo

Clouds with a question mark...

 

Delete the MyMenu.MNR and it will rebuild itself.

If the clouds with question marks still show up, then you need a support path to the BMP's.

 

After the support path addition, delete the MNR again and relaunch AutoCAD.

 

???

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.
Mentor
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 3 of 7 (1,862 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

07-13-2011 03:15 PM in reply to: scot-65

I have deleted the MNR file and rebuilt it.

I have a support path to my custom BMP's.

The images that are missing are not BMP's or if they are, I don't know where they are located.

They are OTB Autocad buttons that work fine in one workspace and not another.

I dont' think changing workspaces changes any support pathing.

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z400
Xeon W3550 @ 3.07Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 729
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,844 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

07-17-2011 01:17 AM in reply to: mikepo

The icons for a groups commands are stored in a dll with the same name as the cuix the commands come from.

 

The Map Import command icon is located in Map_PlanningAnalysis.dll if the cuix is called Map_PlanningAnalysis.cuix.

 

Autocad looks to the dll with the same name as the cuix where the command is.

 

When you copy a command from one cuix to another, the icon does not go with it, autocad looks to the civil.dll (if the new command location is civil.cuix) which does not have the icon you want.

 

To fix this problem,

 

Either, create a custom tab in the map cuix and have it shown in your workspace. This will show the map icons correctly but probably not the civil ones.

 

Or, locate the command in the cui, make sure the source is the map cuix and export the button image. This will export by default to the icons folder. Then select the command that the icon is missing from and click in the box next to Small image. A button with an elipsis, (three dots) will appear, click on this and select the icon you exported. You will need to do this for each of the commands with missing icons. You only have to do this on one machine as the icons are copied into the cuix for future reference so you can copy the cuix to another machine without having to copy tthe exported icons as well.

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Mentor
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 5 of 7 (1,826 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

07-18-2011 08:06 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Your explanation makes sense. I'll try it and see what happens.

It is confusing though if you look at the screen shots i attached before, why some of the icons show up and some don't and they're all from the same Map menu.

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP1
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z400
Xeon W3550 @ 3.07Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Mentor
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 6 of 7 (1,712 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

02-21-2012 12:58 PM in reply to: mikepo

does that mean that the file "Map_PlanningAnalysis.dll" only contains icons ?

and if I want to add a new icon how can I push it into my custom dll ?

 

example I could copy and rename Map_PlanningAnalysis.dll to My.dll and keep building from there.

Contributor
stevenh0616
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎04-12-2011
Message 7 of 7 (1,488 Views)

Re: tool button image missing

02-08-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Thanks for posting this Andrew!!

 

Learn something new about CAD every day - you solved my issue!!

Steve

Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
Intel Core i7 CPU X920 @ 1.73 GHz
16.00 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2013 64-bit SP1 HF3

Check out my AutoCAD, Civil 3D, and Map Apps on the Autodesk Exchange Store at: Autodesk Exchange Store or Red Transit Consultants, LLC Website

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community