Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Active Contributor
Yickod
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 1 of 6 (367 Views)

manipulating field expressions

367 Views, 5 Replies
12-20-2011 02:32 AM

Hi,

I'm trying to display the papersize of a layout in a block.

So far I've looked into diesel and field expressions.

With field expressions I can get the name of the papersize to display that's too long(OVERSIZE: ISO A1), I need only the last two letters.

Anyone kwow how to manipulate field expressions?

*Expert Elite*
pbejse
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 2 of 6 (359 Views)

Re: manipulating field expressions

12-20-2011 03:46 AM in reply to: Yickod

Yickod wrote:

Hi,

I'm trying to display the papersize of a layout in a block.

So far I've looked into diesel and field expressions.

With field expressions I can get the name of the papersize to display that's too long(OVERSIZE: ISO A1), I need only the last two letters.

Anyone kwow how to manipulate field expressions?



This might be of interest.

 

 

Active Contributor
Yickod
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 3 of 6 (353 Views)

Re: manipulating field expressions

12-20-2011 04:39 AM in reply to: pbejse

thanks for the swift reply sbejse!

 

however it does not adress my particular problem.

I already have two diesel expressions in my titleblock; one for the title and one for the index which are both mentioned in the drawingname.

It's probably impossible to get the wanted result with a diesel, so maybe there is a way to manipulate the field expression (%<\AcVar PaperSize \f "%tc1">%) that gives me "OVERSIZE: ISO A1".

 

 

 

 

Valued Mentor
alanjt_
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎08-25-2008
Message 4 of 6 (342 Views)

Re: manipulating field expressions

12-20-2011 08:40 AM in reply to: Yickod
%<\AcVar ctab \f "%tc1">%

 

Active Contributor
Yickod
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 5 of 6 (314 Views)

Re: manipulating field expressions

12-21-2011 01:07 AM in reply to: alanjt_

Hello alanjt, the textfield you're suggesting brings forth the name of the layout which would work if I simply name the layouts to the papersize I'm going to use. Sadly the papersizes are chosen according the size of the part and I use the layoutname through a diesel expression as the title in the titleblock. (drawingname as the projectname) I really thought there would be a way, guess not :smileysad:

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 6 of 6 (292 Views)

Re: manipulating field expressions

12-25-2011 04:43 PM in reply to: Yickod

Yeah, after going around with this quite a bit I am not finding a way to extract a substring from the interpreted papersize field expression or some way to use the interpreted field expression to get the output you want.  I tried using Lisp, Diesel, Attributes, Dynamic Blocks, and Custom Properties.  So I think you would either need to change the papersize designation on a project by project basis or each sheet individually.

Not sure what software you are using and whether you use Sheet Set Manager to manage your planset.  If you use Sheet Set Manager, you could set up a Sheet Set Custom Property that gets changed on a project by project basis assuming that all sheets are the same papersize for a given project, and then create a Field in your title block that displays the custom property.

Or if you produce individual plansheets, maybe have a dynamic block with different visibility states that you switch between A0, A1, and A2.

 

Those are the best options I can come up with, but I am willing to entertain ideas from others.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community