Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
mmoolhuysen
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎08-26-2003
Message 1 of 4 (267 Views)

checkbox "save layer snapshot..." and "use paperspace units" off by default?

267 Views, 3 Replies
03-09-2012 02:24 AM

Hello forum members,

 

There are two preset checkboxes that make our users trip over on a regular basis, because AutoCAD sets both on by default and users fail to notice this will give them (delayed) results that are different from what they expect to happen.

 

The first one is part of View Manager, after a click on button New... one gets the New View / Shot Properties dialogue box.

 

1 - Is it possible to have AutoCAD set the checkbox "save layer snapshot with view" off by default, when  a users opens this dialogue?

 

 

The second one occurs after adding using Layout option New. In every new layout, all linetypes are being set to the property "use paperspace units". You can see this in the Linetype Manager dialogue box, when one selects a linetype and clicks on button Show details, this shows a checkbox named "use paperspace units" that is set on by default for all linetypes in a new layout.

 

2 - Is it possible to have AutoCAD set the checkbox "use paperspace units" off by default, when  a users adds a new layout with Layout New?

 

With friendly greetings, M. Moolhuysen

 

Active Contributor
bobmc
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-10-2009
Message 2 of 4 (188 Views)

Re: checkbox "save layer snapshot..." and "use paperspace units&q

05-13-2013 04:12 PM in reply to: mmoolhuysen

1 - still waiting for Autodesk to create a system variable to do this.

 

2 - set system variable PSLTSCALE = 0 in your drawing.  We do this via a "Basic Drawings Settings" toolbar button which blasts through a macro setting about 20 variables to what we want as an office standard. Just push once for a new drawing, drawing from others, or if someone has changed settings from the desired ones.

Distinguished Contributor
mmoolhuysen
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎08-26-2003
Message 3 of 4 (157 Views)

Re: checkbox "save layer snapshot..." and "use paperspace units&a

05-21-2013 02:32 AM in reply to: bobmc

Well, the problem seems to be that AutoCAD pushes system variable PSLTSCALE to 1 each time a user creates a new layout tab, for that particular layout tab alone. Therefore pushing PSLTSCALE to 0 just after creating a new drawing is not sufficient.

 

I wish now that there would be some kind of acadlayout.lsp that would be automatically executed after generating a new layout, similar to the acaddoc.lsp that is automatically executed after initialization of a drawing. Such a thing would facilitate automation of the necessary settings much easier.

 

With friendly grretings, M. Moolhuysen

Active Contributor
bobmc
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-10-2009
Message 4 of 4 (144 Views)

Re: checkbox "save layer snapshot..." and "use paperspace units&q

05-23-2013 02:16 PM in reply to: mmoolhuysen

You are right about PSLTSCALE being set to 1 on the creation of each new layout.  Rather than some complicated LISP routine, we just click our "Basic Drawing Settings" button once on the creation of each layout also, so we know all system vatiables are per our office standard for the layout.  Pretty easy to do, and if you are working on something and are unsure if the variables are correct, just click the "Basic Drawing Settings" button again.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community