Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Retrieving current Paper Text Height

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
John_Olthafer
377 Views, 7 Replies

Retrieving current Paper Text Height

I'm fairly new to LISP... so need a little help.  This seems simple but I can't find the system variable that I need.

I'm looking for code to retrieve the "Paper Text Height" from the current (active) "Text Style".

I have searched and found something about Group Code DXF 41 but I am not familiar with how to use these in LISP.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: John_Olthafer

@John_Olthafer wrote:

I'm looking for code to retrieve the "Paper Text Height" from the current (active) "Text Style".

I have searched and found something about Group Code DXF 41 but I am not familiar with how to use these in LISP.

The 41 code is the width factor of a Text Style, so I don't think that's going to be the answer.

I don't have a new-enough version to have a differentiated "paper text height" in Text Styles, but if that's a characteristic of the Style definition, it won't be in a System Variable.  But the name of the current (active) Style is stored in the TEXTSTYLE System Variable.  Try:

(tblsearch "style" (getvar 'textstyle))

to get the Style's definition, and see if it's in there.  Or better yet, because it has descriptive names for Properties:

(vlax-dump-object (vlax-ename->vla-object (tblobjname "style" (getvar 'textstyle))))

If it's a Style with a defined height of 0, you can get the height at which it was last used, that is, the current height for that Style:

(vla-get-LastHeight (vlax-ename->vla-object (tblobjname "style" (getvar 'textstyle))))

[which also works for fixed-height Styles, but I think would always be the same as the defined height].

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 3 of 8
John_Olthafer
in reply to: Kent1Cooper

Thanks Kent for replying so quickly.   I think you are on to something.