Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Contributor
d2cad
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-26-2005
Message 1 of 7 (3,516 Views)

Remove attributes from existing blocks

3516 Views, 6 Replies
03-11-2010 01:36 AM
I have a few drawings (50 or so) that have blocks with attributes in it. To convert them to a different CAD-program the attributes need to go. I tried to redefine the blocks with inserting blocks without attributes: the block is updates but the attributes remain.
Is there a way to simply select blocks and remove all attributes from it?

Kind regards,

Jeroen Berkers
Mentor
stevor
Posts: 839
Registered: ‎12-26-2005
Message 2 of 7 (3,514 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-11-2010 06:02 AM in reply to: d2cad
You should be able to find or make a routine to redefine the BLOCKs with the ATTRIBUTEs removed, or changed them to TEXTs, either within the BLOCK definitions, or as independent objects.

And to do it automatically for each dwg.

That is the Auto of Autocad.
S
*Gert
Message 3 of 7 (3,515 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-11-2010 06:20 AM in reply to: d2cad
maybe it works for you, if you
_burst
the blocks...

d2cad wrote:
> I have a few drawings (50 or so) that have blocks with attributes in it. To convert them to a different CAD-program the attributes need to go. I tried to redefine the blocks with inserting blocks without attributes: the block is updates but the attributes remain.
> Is there a way to simply select blocks and remove all attributes from it?
>
> Kind regards,
>
> Jeroen Berkers
Contributor
d2cad
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-26-2005
Message 4 of 7 (3,515 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-11-2010 07:35 AM in reply to: d2cad
Tried to find a routine, but they just update the block and keep the attributes. Can you (or somebody) put me in the right direction?
*Mark
Message 5 of 7 (3,515 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-11-2010 07:54 AM in reply to: d2cad
try ATTSYNC
HTH

wrote in message news:6352781@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have a few drawings (50 or so) that have blocks with attributes in it. To
convert them to a different CAD-program the attributes need to go. I tried
to redefine the blocks with inserting blocks without attributes: the block
is updates but the attributes remain.
Is there a way to simply select blocks and remove all attributes from it?

Kind regards,

Jeroen Berkers
Mentor
stevor
Posts: 839
Registered: ‎12-26-2005
Message 6 of 7 (3,515 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-11-2010 11:11 AM in reply to: d2cad
Just curious, what did you find?
Eg, post the most promising code you found.
That starts everyon.
S
Contributor
d2cad
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-26-2005
Message 7 of 7 (3,515 Views)

Re: Remove attributes from existing blocks

03-12-2010 01:44 AM in reply to: d2cad
As requested the most promising code.
This replaces the blocks, but keeps the attributes.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community