Did you mean: 

Pipeline Topo

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
imtaha
1435 Views, 16 Replies

Pipeline Topo

Hi every body,

I have little knowledge about lisp routines and I need help with a lisp routin. What I have is a topo plan in 3D (All contour lines have x, y and z values). My pipeline is on x and y coordinate only. I need to get the corrosponding z value for say about 2000 points on the pipeline. Help is urgently needed.

Thanks

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: imtaha

@imtaha wrote:

.... What I have is a topo plan in 3D (All contour lines have x, y and z values). My pipeline is on x and y coordinate only. I need to get the corrosponding z value for say about 2000 points on the pipeline. Help is urgently needed.

That sounds like a job for

(vlax-curve-getClosestPointToProjection curve-obj givenPnt normal [extend])

Presumably the"curve-obj" argument would be a contour-line Polyline, the "givenPnt" argument would be one of those 2000 points on the pipeline, and the "normal" argument would be '(0 0 1) [straight up in the Z direction].  You would probably need to step through all the contour lines for each pipeline point, make a list of the closest point for each, calculate the two that are closest in X,Y coordinates, then interpolate between them somehow, depending on how precise you need it to be.  That would give you the [perhaps approximate] Z value for the place on grade at the pipeline point position, from which you can subtract or add something to get an elevation below or above grade.

You haven't said what you would do with that information [label with text in the drawing? send to external file? make the pipeline Polyline 3D to follow the contours?].  Nor do we know yet what defines those 2000 points [Polyline vertices? equally-spaced distances along it, regardless of their relationship to vertices? intersections with some reference grid?].

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 3 of 17
imtaha
in reply to: Kent1Cooper