Did you mean: 

Malformed list on input

19 REPLIES 19
SOLVED
Message 1 of 20
cncah
21393 Views, 19 Replies

Malformed list on input

I'm having an error thrown on me in the first line of a new program I'm trying to write. I've read that you want to localize your variables in parentheses after the c:name. But when I put the values in there it flags an error on me saying malformed list on input. Here is what it looks like:

(defun c:f2scfrt ( / *error* osm ipt1 ipt2 midX midY angent lftwall)

I've tried lowercase, uppercase doesn't seem to matter. If I take out all that and just leave ( / ). Then the program loads and I can start trying to debug the program. I'm new to autolisp and am trying to learn the best I can. I'm currently trying to use the tutorial on error handling from Lee Mac's website. Very nice website, trying to learn the best I can from examples he uses. Is there a good book that someone could suggest that would be pretty much like: AutoLISP For Dummies? I've tried looking at the autodesk reference guide, but it is pretty vague and doesn't go into any detail on the individual subjects. I'm picking up some good basics from AfraLISP and the JeffreyPSanders websites as well. I'm just basically needing to know if I can leave the defun line in my program ( / ) or if I need to figure out a way to add my setq values in there to localize them. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
hmsilva
in reply to: cncah

The "malformed list on input" usually means unbalanced brakets, therefore nothing to do with localize variables.

Post your code, will be easier to assist.

Al the sites mentioned by you, are very good places to learn, but don't forget the AutoLISP Reference, the AutoLISP Devoloper's Guide and the AutoLISP Tutorial from the Help files.

Henrique

EESignature

Message 3 of 20
Lee_Mac

Firstly, thank you for your compliments for my site - I hope my tutorials are clear & somewhat comprehensible Smiley Happy