Did you mean: 

Lisp routine stops updating drawing while running

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
RandyBenson
1696 Views, 10 Replies

Lisp routine stops updating drawing while running

Forgive the abstract question without showing any code - the lisp routine is very large:

I'm a surveyor. Our data collector saves (ascii) raw data, which logs all the measurement data for the 'shots' we take in the field.

I wrote a routine that works fine. It parses the raw data file from our survey data collector and recreates the survey in the drawing. It creates a 'point block' at the coordinates each shot and populates it with attributes for point number, description and elevation. If the shot represents certain entities (trees, manholes, area drains, etc.) it inserts the appropriate symbols.

Everything works, BUT... it used to be enjoyable to watch everything happening on screen, but now AutoCAD draws the first few point blocks, symbols, etc. and then freezes until the routine is finished, when everything appears at once.

Can anyone tell me what causes this behavior and if there's anything I can do or rewrite to bring back the old behavior?

TIA,

Randy Benson

Win7

Dell Precision T3500 x64 8M ram

Civil 3d 2012

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
pbejse
in reply to: RandyBenson

@Anonymous wrote:

Forgive the abstract question without showing any code - the lisp routine is very large:

I'm a surveyor. Our data collector saves (ascii) raw data, which logs all the measurement data for the 'shots' we take in the field.

I wrote a routine that works fine. It parses the raw data file from our survey data collector and recreates the survey in the drawing. It creates a 'point block' at the coordinates each shot and populates it with attributes for point number, description and elevation. If the shot represents certain entities (trees, manholes, area drains, etc.) it inserts the appropriate symbols.