LISP to dimension text Radius/Straight of a line

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
jhockley
1436 Views, 5 Replies

LISP to dimension text Radius/Straight of a line

Hi

New to the forum.

Could anyone one help with a LISP that adds a text to identify a radius/straight of a line (see attached jpg).

Could it:

Inserts perpendicular to line

Radius to 1 decimal place

Finishes with 'mR'

Straight line displays as 'STR'

I have tried doing this using dynamic blocks - doesnt work, and i have no programming knowledge so i'd be lost on actually writing LISP routines.

Thanks in advance

PS We use this a lot and would save immense amount of time

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: jhockley

@jhockley wrote:

Could anyone one help with a LISP that adds a text to identify a radius/straight of a line ...:

Inserts perpendicular to line

Radius to 1 decimal place

Finishes with 'mR'

Straight line displays as 'STR'

Welcome to the Forums!

If a dimension's extension line would serve in place of the perpendicular line, perhaps with the DIMEXO System Variable set to 0 so that it touches the Polyline vertex, then a simple modification of this recent routine could do that.  It would just require applying "STR" as override text on all line-segment dimensions, using the radius rather than segment length as override and putting the right mode and precision and suffix on all arc-segment dimensions, and suppressing all dimension lines.  Using a Dimension Style that puts the text above the dimension line [the routine is built assuming text centered on the dimension line as in our standard style] would simplify the positioning -- right on the segment.  Does that sound like it would work for you?  If you really need a perpendicular line that looks like your image, that wouldn't be difficult to work into it, though the question arises whether all line-to-arc-segment intersections will always be tangents.

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 3 of 6
Kent1Cooper
in reply to: Kent1Cooper