Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 1 of 4 (404 Views)

Blurry CUI Icons

404 Views, 3 Replies
01-17-2013 07:01 AM

Before I get to my problem, let me give you a brief description of our environment.  I recently created a custom GUI for my company that uses mostly macros to insert blocks. This gui is loaded as a partial into the machine.

 

Now, personally I don't like going back and forth between 3 tabs all day long, and I can get the bulk of the panels/tools I use (whether they were from ACAD or my own partial CUI) all into tab. I create the new tab, and drag and drop any panels I want from ACAD & the partial into this new tab.  Then I customize my workspace and add the tab.  I have a problem though with some of the icons from my partial coming in blurry, and I can't seem to fix it.

 

I've tried everything I can think of. The steps I've tried are:

  1. Going to the CUI, selecting the command (under MEP, not my partial name), deleting the icons for both large & small icons, then re-linking them. Didn't work
  2. Same as above, but rather than deleting the icons, I edit the icon, and import the one I want to replace it with. Still doesn't work.
  3. Same as above, but tried clicking on the icon directly and selecting import.

I've attached 2 pictures.

 

I'm using a 22" monitor, and have more horizontal room and no tabs are being collapsed.

 

Has anyone else encountered this? Is there something I'm doing wrong?

 

Thanks,

Shawn

 

*Edit - I added another attachment to show the Lutron wires from the partial. This attachment is "partial icons2"

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Distinguished Contributor
greg.battin
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎12-10-2010
Message 2 of 4 (364 Views)

Re: Blurry CUI Icons

01-17-2013 11:17 AM in reply to: smbrennan85

In the CUI editor, there are 2 button images that need to be defined. a 16x16 pixel image (small) and a 32x32 pixel image large. you can set both the small and large image to point to a small image (16x16). The images that you have shown as displaying grainy i bet are set to look at a small image and are therefore being stretched up to fit the larger button image.

We corrected this in out tool by creating small and large icons for our ribbon and tool palettes.

button image size.jpg

~Greg

Valued Mentor
bgingerich
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 3 of 4 (356 Views)

Re: Blurry CUI Icons

01-17-2013 01:33 PM in reply to: greg.battin

From Help:
The internal Button Editor allows you to create two different sizes: small (16 x 16 pixels) and large (32 x 32 pixels). By default, images that do not match these sizes are scaled to fit.

Make any res. pic greater than 32x32 and it will be scaled...no blurriness (blurieness?,blurryness?:smileyfrustrated:).

 

(if ("mysolution"=answer) then (click "Accept As Solution"))
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
Brandon Gingerich
Mentor
smbrennan85
Posts: 238
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 4 of 4 (351 Views)

Re: Blurry CUI Icons

01-17-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: smbrennan85

Thank you both for your input.

 

Greg - The way I created these icons was by actually taking the block, and bringing it into a tool pallette. This automatically created an image (if I remember correctly, a PNG?). From there, I used GIMP to save that as a BMP for autocad. Since the tool pallette creates both 16x16 & 32x32, I decided to make it easier on myself to use the 32x32 for both the small and large icons.  The native resolution for all icons is 32x32. They were all made using the same method. So why are some coming through just fine, and others are not? Just as reinforcement, I think I spent a whole day just repeating the same process over and over again making icons.

 

Any other thoughts?

Shawn B.

Follow me on Twitter @That85CADGuy.  ||    Connect with me on Linkedin.
To help improve Autodesk Products, please Click Here to provide feedback.
To help improve the use of these Forums, please  Accept As Solution and  Give Kudos.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.