Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization

Reply
Member
jhframe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-13-2004
Message 1 of 8 (871 Views)

AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

871 Views, 7 Replies
09-28-2012 04:55 PM

AutoCAD 2013 seems to be overwriting the first line of text produced by an AutoLISP function in the command line shown in the graphics window.  For example:

 

(defun c:test1 (/)
  (princ "\nTest line 1.")
  (princ "\nTest line 2.")
  (princ "\nTest line 3.")
  (princ))

 

In the text window this shows up as:

 

Test line 1.
Test line 2.
Test line 3.

But in the command line in the graphics window it appears as:

 

Test line 2.
Test line 3.

It doesn't matter how many lines I show in the graphics window, the first one is always missing.

 

This is new behavior.  I have hundreds of AutoLISP functions that I depend on for my business, and having to tweak every one of them to adapt to this is going to be a major pain in the ****.  Is there some kind of setting that I'm overlooking?

 

Thanks!

Mentor
devitg
Posts: 1,694
Registered: ‎03-14-2004
Message 2 of 8 (854 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

09-28-2012 08:41 PM in reply to: jhframe

The last (PRINC) hide all previous lines 

 

at the text screen or after press F2

 

Command: test1

Test line 1.
Test line 2.
Test line 3.

 

 

 

Member
jhframe
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-13-2004
Message 3 of 8 (848 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

09-28-2012 09:07 PM in reply to: devitg

It's not a simple matter of not having enough command lines visible.  It also appears to be drawing-related -- I just created a new drawing using acad.dwt, and the problem isn't present.  See the two attached images.

Active Contributor
jhay2009
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-10-2006
Message 4 of 8 (773 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

10-02-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: jhframe

I'm seeing exactly the same thing and this is driving me crazy!

 

 

Have you figured out how to fix this?

Contributor
JeffRusson6157
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (709 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

10-11-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: jhframe

I am having a similar problem since installing sp1.1.  Before installation of sp 1.1  if I typed (+ 2 2) at the command line the '4' was eched back to the command line.  After installing sp1.1 '4' is not printed to the command line in model space although it does appear on the text screen. A major annoyance for me. This odd behavior is clearly related to sp 1.1 because if I uninstall sp 1.1 autocad reverts to the previous behavior (known by me in all versions since R14).

 

I am seriously considering doing without sp 1.1. 

 

Jeff

Member
pfxarch
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-04-2013
Message 6 of 8 (587 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

01-04-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: jhframe

Why oh Why Autodesk?!  Nice to have the system variables, but who comes up with the defaults?!

VERY lisp unfriendly.  Some of us like to lisp on the fly as we're working.  Kind of a pain to have to F2 to see the results.

 

System variable is CLIPROMPTUPDATE

 

Default Setting is 0 (OFF)

Change it to 1 (ON)

 

And now we can get back to work....

Active Contributor
jhay2009
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-10-2006
Message 7 of 8 (577 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

01-04-2013 02:18 PM in reply to: jhframe

Thank you, thank you and thank you.  I'm so used to things being bugs that it never dawned on me that it could possibly be a new system variable.

*Expert Elite*
scot-65
Posts: 2,136
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 8 of 8 (572 Views)

Re: AutoLISP Output and 2013 Command Line Behavior

01-04-2013 03:26 PM in reply to: pfxarch

pfxarch wrote:

Why oh Why Autodesk?!  Nice to have the system variables, but who comes up with the defaults?!


There is a trend with other similar (parametric) software that completely eliminates the command line.

The developers have abandoned the left hand in favor of pure dialog interfaces.

Are these developers hinting that this will be to come?

Isn't that a shame?

 

???

Scot-65
Dyslexia is a permanent physical disability that cannot be seen.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community