VBA
Discuss AutoCAD ActiveX and VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) questions here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autocad Attribute Export to Excel

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Ryan_McKellar
18577 Views, 5 Replies

Autocad Attribute Export to Excel

Hi Guys, 

I am currently working on a project where I am taking a lot of Autocad Attributes and Eporting them to an excel file so they can be referenced in a table of contents type of manner. My question is if there is a way to have excel automatically update the tables after changes are made to the autocad file. This file is an ever changing thing so going back and running through the entire "Eattext" commad and re exporting and overwriting the existing file is very tiresome, especially when I am adding and deleting attributes daily. Is there a VBA program I can run to accomplish this task, I have failry limited VBA skills and haven't written in VBA for years. I am fairly new to exporting autocad attributes to excel so if there is a very simple fix that I do not know about please forgive my ignorance. 

I attached a very simplistic example of the general Idea of what I am trying to accomplish.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
norman.yuan
in reply to: Ryan_McKellar

There may be existing VBA program/code that does what you want or similar to what you want. But most likely, you need to write your own code to do exactly you want.

However, the important thing of your requirement is not to how to write VBA code (or .NET API code, which is a bit more furture-proof in term of AutoCAD programming), rather, it is how you decide the process workflow and how the workflow fit your situation the best.