I see no reason for Vault to use numeric codes to represent errors. It would be much better if the error codes used words instead. For example, "InvalidUserPassword" is a much more useful error code than "301".
This is quite an annoying issue. I've created several Search Folders in Vault, which contain pretty complex search-parameters. Every time we migrate to a newer version of Vault (almost every year) I have to manually 'redesign' these search criteria... FOR EACH WORKSTATION THAT USES VAULT in our company!
It would be a great improvement of Vault Basic to incorporate a tool/function to export/backup AND import the search folders. Can't imagine other users don't think the same.
"I think it would be useful if PS would email users if they have a checked out file in Vault that has been checked out for more than X number of days/weeks etc without any activity (new checkin). I've found some people purposely or accidentally checkout a file and forget about it. I tried having them create a saved search, but it needs to be more of a "in the face" reminder.
It could also be a popup when you login that says something like... "you have X number of files that have been checked out for X number of days, would you like to checkin the files now?" Granted this may be tougher since you will have to use Inventor to do the actual checkin."
As it currently stands it is not possible to delete users and groups within Autodesk Vault.
This is a problem. I understand Autodesk's stance on that the users need to be retained for historical reasons, however the management side of things needs to be improved.
For example I created a group and users that were never used. Why can't I delete them? Objects that were never used should be allowed to be deleted. Also as the database grows and users are hired and terminated, the list will grow to an unmanageable mess.
What has happened to me is that I am in the middle of implementing Vault for my company. When I first set it up I created users. However, since then we have switched to a Domain and have now imported the Domain users and groups to use. Now I have groups and users that have never been used that I have no way of deleting or using for anything else.
I have found blogs and forum posts suggesting that users be diabled and renamed so that they are sorted appropriately. This is a hack solution at best and not a real solution to the problem.
As I see it two things need to happen:
1. Unused users and groups need to be allowed to be deleted.
2. There needs to be additional options and sorting methods for used users and groups that are no longer active. ie. Once they are disabled they are moved to a different list and only retained for historical purposes.