is there a way to set up my companies vault so that the local file copy gets deleted automaticly or is enforced, when the client machines check is n file after it has been created or edit so there is no local copies on any use machines.
Just curious, why do you need this?
I want to enforce the users to check out a drawing to work on it,
And not working on files that is on the local folder, because at this stage this cause great frustration and duplications.
The file in the local folder is 'read-only' when not checked out. Have them run the 'workspace sync' to clean out the folder. Having the file remain after checking in helps in performance if checking out the file the next day.
If they are manually removing the 'read-only' tag to get around checking out, then you have a bigger issue then the files remaining in the local workspace.
but what they do is using save as, and then change the name, resulting in duplications in the vault,
how do I set the workspace sync,
so I cannot really enforce the deletion of the locasl copy?
Tell them never to use 'save as' with Vaulted documents. There is a better option in the Vault called 'copy design'. They are only creating more work for themselves using 'save as'.
Depending on what version of Vault you're using, you can try the below app:
That app will not enforce the local copy to be deleted, just gives another option for the user to utilize.
The best practice is to leave it alone, then setup the workspace sync (depending on your options) to delete local copies.
I will rather create a newVault structure where al the files we nee is located, and then migrate the old vault with the new ones
Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register
Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.
Upgrading to a 2015 product? Make sure to check these out 1st!