Vault General

Reply
Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 1 of 10 (318 Views)

How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

318 Views, 9 Replies
10-18-2012 06:48 AM

Hi,

I have an up and running Vault Professional 2013 instance on a single server with SQL 2008 R2.

I want to leave ADMS on that server and just change the SQL instance to a different server to increase performance as described in some autodesk vault articles.

 

I see how to do this within a new setup during the setup dialog by configuring remote sql.

 

How can I do this with an already installed system?

Steps (to be edited by someone who knows how to do it):

1.) Turn on TCP/IP protocol and sql browser on the new sql server

2.) Backing up KnowledgeVaultMaster and Vault database and restoring on the new server

3.) What about sql logins / windows logins on the new sql server and existing adms server?

4.) How to tell the ADMS to connect to the new sql server?

 

Thx for your help,

klaus

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 2 of 10 (314 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

10-18-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Klaus,

 

Try these steps:

 

  1. Install the Remote SQL Server using the steps found in the Advanced Configuration Guide. SQL Administrative Tasks for Autodesk Vault expand the section Install Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Prior to Installing Autodesk Vault Server.
  2. Enable the TCP/IP protocol and set the SQL Browser service to startup automatically. Use the Configure Remote SQL section in the link provided in step 1.
  3. Backup your current Vault(s) using the ADMS Console backup utility.
  4. Edit the web.config file located at Autodesk\ADMS Professional 2013\Server\web\services.
  5. Find the line <server value=".\AutodeskVault" />
  6. Replace the period "." with the server name of the remote SQL install.
  7. Launch the ADMS Console and create a Master Vault from the Tools menu.  This will verify that it is connected and everything is set correctly.
  8. Restore your backup performed in step 3.
  9. If all is successful, you should uninstall the local AutodeskVault SQL instance.


Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 3 of 10 (312 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

10-18-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Irvin,

thanks for you quick response!

I will try this and give feedback about how everything worked out!

 

klaus

Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 4 of 10 (187 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Irvin,

everything perfect until step 7. 

I am able to start ADMS Console. The console succesfully points to the new SQL server (if i try to attach an existing database the selection dialog points to the new server).

The problem now is, that there seems to be a rights problem with the new sql server. i get a sql error (error in converting system.dbnull to string) that is a problem with sql user rights when i try to create a new knowledge vault master.

 

could you please describe which users/schemas/roles i have to create on the new sql server (AUTODESKVAULT instance exists, but no autodesk console installation; so no VaultSys SQL user,...) to make this work?

I tried to manually create the VaultSys sql but did not make it good enough to work.

 

thank you,

klaus

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 5 of 10 (184 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 06:14 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Use the link in step 1 in my previous post.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 6 of 10 (178 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: katterbauer

I did exactly what was described there:

- Create sa

- Create VaultSys

incuding the necessary credentials/roles

 

The problem still persists.

Error says "Object of type "system.dbnull" cannot be converted to type "system.string". when trying to create a new KVM. If i attach the KVM with SQL Studio the error message appears when starting the adms console.

 

another hint?

 

 

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 7 of 10 (174 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 07:19 AM in reply to: katterbauer

When you install SQL on the other server, what collation did you select?  If that fails, I would recommend that you uninstall the Vault Server and reinstall it and point to the remote server. You will have to uninstall the local SQL instance for the installer to enable you to point to the remote server.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 8 of 10 (170 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 07:55 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Collation is in fact different! Although both SQL installations were installed with default settings for the collation the existing says "Latin_1_General_CI_AS" and the new one says "SQL_Latin_1_General_CP1_CI_AS".

Don´t know if the code page and the beginning "sql" makes a difference but i will install the instance new with the exact same collation.

 

thx, i will give feedback,

 

klaus

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 9 of 10 (166 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-19-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: katterbauer

Actually I believe those 2 collations are the same.  Microsoft changed the names in newer versions of SQL.

I would go with my other recommendation of re-installing Vault server and let the setup configure SQL for you.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
katterbauer
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎04-06-2011
Message 10 of 10 (148 Views)

Re: How To: Change SQL Server to a different Server

03-22-2013 12:23 AM in reply to: ihayesjr

Don´t know what helped here, but after I reinstalled the SQL instance and defined the collation to be exactly Latin_1_General_CI_AS and additionally reinstalled adms console everything works now!

Thanks for your inputs and help!

 

klaus

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community