Vault General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 1 of 9 (331 Views)
Accepted Solution

Distributed licensing problem

331 Views, 8 Replies
12-17-2012 08:36 AM

We are staging a new Vault server that will be a remote server connected using Connected Workgroups to our main vault server, the publisher. Licenses are to be handed out using distributed licenses. Most on our publisher, and a few on the Subscriber (in case of temporary network failure) I have distributed licensing set up, but it isn't behaving quite how I expected. Here is the behavior we are seeing:

 

With both servers online:

- All requests for a license from the publisher succeed.

- All requests for a license from the Subscriber are passed along to the Publisher, and succeed.

- If the Publisher runs out of licenses, it starts to draw from the Subscriber's pool successfully.

X: If the Publisher cannot be contacted, any attempts to pull a license from the subscriber fails. (simulated by connecting client and server together on an isolated hub)

 

Right now, both servers exist on the same subnet of a LAN, and their firewalls are off. Eventually, the Subscriber will be on a different subnet connected via a BOVPN.  What have I done wrong, or are my expectations incorrect here? 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 9 (309 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

12-18-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: BSchubring

First you need to make sure there is full connectivity between the distributed license servers.  That means that you should be able to connect to them via IPv4 (not IPv6) and that ports 2080 and 27000 are accessible.  You can test the connectivity from each server to the next with Internet Explorer (only) by going to the addresses:

 

http://servername:2080

http://servername:27000

 

Your result should look similar to:

 

Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60

 

You will also need to place ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE system environment variables where the ADMS server can access the license server, since it is the ADMS that pulls the Vault license and not the clients.  Add all of your NLM servers to the system environment variable following these instructions:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617 

 

In addition, due to latency across the WAN, especially with VPN, you will want to add an additional FLEXLM_TIMEOUT system environment variable as well:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=7574782&linkID=9240617

 

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 3 of 9 (299 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

12-18-2012 11:22 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thorough, thank you very much!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 9 (297 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

12-18-2012 11:25 AM in reply to: BSchubring

Cool.  If you run into any additional problems after implementing this, let us know.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 5 of 9 (251 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

03-01-2013 06:48 AM in reply to: BSchubring

Travis,

 

We're looking into this issue once again, and troubleshooting some oddities. Re-reading one of your links I saw the following that I missed on my first time through.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617

Consider the following when using the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE environment variable to specify license servers: 

  • This variable is automatically set during a client installation from a deployment that is configured for distributed servers.

If I understand this correctly, the CLIENT needs this system environment variable as well? I thought these only needed to be set on the server, and the server would bounce the request for licenses as needed. My Vault 2013 deployment image is from before we had distributed licenses so this variable is not being set on clients.  Am I understanding correctly that this needs to be fixed?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 9 (249 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

03-01-2013 07:01 AM in reply to: BSchubring
Yes. The variable needs to be on the client. Let me know if you have problems.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 7 of 9 (247 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

03-01-2013 07:10 AM in reply to: TravisNave

yes to both places

you need that enviroment variable on the server where the ADMS console is and also on the client where the CAD software is installed if vault is the only network license product then you only need it on the server where the ADMS console is

Employee
minkd
Posts: 454
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 8 of 9 (241 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

03-01-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: DarrenP

To clarify Darren's post ...

 

For vault licenses, only the ADMS servers need that environment variable, and it must be a system environment variable instead of a user environment variable.  You will at a minimum need to restart IIS after changing the value, but it might need a reboot (I'm not sure).

 

And as Darren said, if you are also using distributed licenses for your CAD applications, then you need to set the environment variable on the client machines.

 

Hope this helps,

-Dave



Dave Mink
Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
BSchubring
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
Message 9 of 9 (236 Views)

Re: Distributed licensing problem

03-01-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: minkd

Got it, thanks. Right now Vault is the only network licensed Autodesk product. *whew* I was worried I'd missed something big. :smileyhappy:

 

We're still testing the environment, and will report back when I've learned more. I can report that we have the firewalls back up on the vault servers, the issue was that when I created the firewall rules to allow port 2080, I had restricted the remote port as well as the local port to 2080. When I changed remote port to Any, and left the local port to 2080 communication seemed to be uninhibited with the firewalls up. I don't recall if that was an error on my part, or if I got that from doco.  It probably was my choice.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community