Vault General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 3 (263 Views)

Change Order Link Properties not working

263 Views, 2 Replies
11-17-2011 12:32 PM

Hi all,

I have a client who is would like to create a Change Order Link Property called 'Priority' that can be set to Low, Medium, or High for each record that is attached to a Change Order.  According to the Wikihelp, that is exactly the type of info Link Properties are used for: http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Vault/enu/2012/Help/02._Working_with_Vault/01._Vault_Client/1175VaultSe...

 

However, they do not appear to be working.  Below is the procedure I followed to try to create a Link Property.  I have tried this in Vault Professional 2011 Update 2 and Vault Professional 2012.  Both have the same result.  I have searched the forums, but could not find a solution.  Am I doing something wrong or do Link Properties not work?

 

1. Open the Vault Professional client and go to Tools->Adminstration->Vault Settings. Click on the Change Order tab and click Properties:

1 Vault Settings.JPG

 

2. Click New to create a new property as shown, then click OK:
2 Link Property.JPG

 

3. Close out Vault Settings, then create a new ECO with a record.  The Property appears, but it cannot be changed.

Clicking on the drop-down arrow has no effect:

3 ECO.JPG

 

4. Go back into Vault Settings and check the Link Property.  The settings have been changed:

4 Link Property 2.JPG

 

Thanks,

Kevin Burrows

Technical Specialist

ECAD, Inc.

Alumni
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Message 2 of 3 (210 Views)

Re: Change Order Link Properties not working

02-22-2012 09:34 PM in reply to: KevinBurrows

Thank you posting this messge.

 

The ECO link Property only works for Items in the Records tab, not for files.

 

I have log a defect to update the wikihelp message.

 

Regards,

Carrie

Active Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎10-01-2007
Message 3 of 3 (143 Views)

Re: Change Order Link Properties not working

11-27-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: carrie.ruan

I have also since tried to do this with FILES attached to an ECO.  The property appears, but you cannot edit the property.  I now understand (after reading this post) that this can only be accomplished by using ITEMS with an ECO.

 

I have attached the WIKI Help link that talks about linked ECO properties, but mentions NOTHING about how this can only be done with ITEMS.  This would have saved me a little bit of time if I knew this ahead of time.  Can you please update the WIKI page or put in a request for this to work with files too?  Thank you.

 

Wiki Help: Manage ECO Properties

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community