Vault General

Reply
Active Contributor
desidubajic
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-28-2007
Message 1 of 5 (237 Views)
Accepted Solution

Adding item to Change Order (Error 1656)

237 Views, 4 Replies
03-04-2014 02:30 PM

Vault Professional 2014.

 

Recently came across a new error.

 

Trying to add an item card to an existing Change Order. (The change order is in Work state, but was previously in "Check" state)

 

Error 1656:

 

The change order routing selected is not appropriate to work with item.

Please select appropriate routing or remove items from the change order.

 

Huh???!!! How can you even create a change order that doesn't work with items??? And how is it there are other items attached to this change order, just not the ones I am trying to add?

 

I and the others have had nothing but endless issues with Vault 2014 and change orders specifically. Everytime something comes up, I'm locked out of that change order for 20minutes. (Can we at least change that somewhere?? ...)  Says's the file is locked out for editing by me, and I'm apparently to big a ***** to give myself access to it.

 

I checked the documentation in the SDK and it states "Server Error Code: 1656 "InappropriateRouting".  Should really say "InadequateKnowledgeOfWhatHappenedSoJustPrintedSomeTechnoGibberish"

 

Others have tried to update this change order. They were "Responsible Engineers". I tried as the Administrator which is everything and got the same error.

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,164
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (220 Views)

Re: Adding item to Change Order (Error 1656)

03-05-2014 07:03 AM in reply to: desidubajic

Make sure that everyone currently on the routing has Item Editor role in your permissions.  That's all I've been able to find so far.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Active Contributor
desidubajic
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-28-2007
Message 3 of 5 (213 Views)

Re: Adding item to Change Order (Error 1656)

03-05-2014 09:27 AM in reply to: cbenner

Everyone who accesses Change Orders, is part of an Engineering group that has all appropriate roles defined. I myself am the administrator of this vault, and in this particular case I logged on with the Administrator account and still cannot add item cards.

 

Only recently has this error ocurred. Why we are suddenly denied the ability to add or remove item cards from the Associated Records list seems a little dumbfounding. Especially with the particular error (1656) being presented. These particular ECO's were at the check stage and "rejected" back to work. The responsible Engineer who has been working on this ECO added the original item cards and files that were part of this ECO. Suddenly he can only add/remove files, whereas any attempt to add or remove an item card results in this error.

 

How can this happen? Furthermore, how is it possible to limit an ECO to NOT allow item cards to be added to the records?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,164
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 4 of 5 (210 Views)

Re: Adding item to Change Order (Error 1656)

03-05-2014 11:15 AM in reply to: desidubajic

You keep saying Item Cards.... what is an Item Card?  Are you referring to just Items?

 

Is this happening only on one ECO or across the board?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Active Contributor
desidubajic
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-28-2007
Message 5 of 5 (206 Views)

Re: Adding item to Change Order (Error 1656)

03-05-2014 01:20 PM in reply to: cbenner
It appears you were on the right track with the routing list. One of the individuals on the list for the ECO's that were having issues, recently left the company and had his vault user account disabled. I am speculating as much, as I didn't think of that until I removed all the users from the routing list. Then I managed (as administrator) to add the desired items to the attached records. After that I re-populated the routing list with the appropriate individuals excluding him, and now it is working. Although I'm still a little baffled why it would stop users who have the correct credentials from performing tasks within an ECO. I guess I can consider this solved. To answer your questions, it was only happening to a handful of ECO's. To us .. an item is similar to the "item cards" used in our previous ERP database, and thus everyone here refers to them as such. Thanks for your help

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community