Vault General

Reply
*Doug Redmond \(Autodesk\)
Message 11 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

02-21-2008 05:33 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
I ran a quick test, and everything worked for me when I passed in Nothing
for the array values.

Dim newUser As User = adminSvc.AddUser("VBTest1", "", "", "", "", True,
Nothing, Nothing, Nothing)


Doug Redmond
Software Engineer, Autodesk Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
Thomas.Rambach
Posts: 571
Registered: ‎07-22-2004
Message 12 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

02-21-2008 05:34 PM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
Seems to work ok now, I had some other sloppy code that was messing things up.
Valued Contributor
simonsson
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 13 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

10-07-2009 11:08 PM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
I have this problem aswell. It seems I cant pass in null for roles and vaults.

This is C# and Vault 2010 API.

admSvc.AddUser(“TestUser”, “pwd”, VaultConnection.VaultAdminService.AuthType.Vault, “name”, “lastname”, “email@email.com“, true, null, null);

I get soap exception 155:
155 | IllegalNullParam | A null value was passed in where a null value is not allowed.

Any idea what I'm doing wrong? I want to set administrator role and check all vaults.

Thanks
*Doug Redmond \(Autodesk\)
Message 14 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

10-08-2009 06:05 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach

I just ran a test in Vault 2010, and passing in
null still works for roleIdArray and
size=3>vaultIdArray. 

 

Looking at the code from your post,
face="Times New Roman" size=3>the 'atype' parameter looks wrong.  It should
be AuthTyp, with no 'e' at the end.  Did you copy and paste directly from
your source code?  Is there a chance that any of the other parameters could
have a null value?


face=Arial size=2>

--
Doug
Redmond
Software Engineer, Autodesk Inc.

href="http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/">
size=2>http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/
Valued Contributor
simonsson
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 15 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

10-08-2009 07:15 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
You're right! The user name was null for some other reason. I just didn't realize that.

Thanks!
Valued Contributor
simonsson
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-13-2007
Message 16 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

10-09-2009 01:00 AM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
How do I set the added user to be a member of all vaults?
*Doug Redmond \(Autodesk\)
Message 17 of 17 (176 Views)

Re: AddUser

10-09-2009 12:30 PM in reply to: Thomas.Rambach
Call GetAllKnowledgeVaults in the Knowledge Vault Service to get a list of
all the vaults.
Call AddUser in the Admin Service to create a new user with the proper Vault
membership.
Call UpdateUserInfo in the Admin Service to update the Vault membership of
an existing user.

--
Doug Redmond
Software Engineer, Autodesk Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community