Vault General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,165
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 5 (750 Views)

Vault 2013 - Can I use this with Inventor 2012?

750 Views, 4 Replies
05-07-2012 07:14 AM

I have installed Vault 2013 (local ADMS and Client) on my machine and migrated the database. I am having issues with Inventor 2013 and I have a time sensetive project coming up. I dont have the time to wait on getting Inventor 2013 running correctly.

 

From what I have been reading (Vault 2013 "What's New"), 2013 "should" work with Inventor 2012.  Guess what I'm wondering is anyone else running Vault 2013 with Inventor 2012?

 

I guess if worse comes to worse, I could totally remove Vault 2013 and reinstall Vault 2012 and restore my Vault 2012 backup, but I would like to leave Vault 2013 on there if I could.

 

Employee
JamesMcMullen
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Message 2 of 5 (746 Views)

Re: Vault 2013 - Can I use this with Inventor 2012?

05-07-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: karthur1

When you use Inventor 2012 with the Vault 2013 server, are you seeing any issues?  The Inventor 2012 client should be able to log into the 2013 server without any issues.

 

-Jim

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 3 of 5 (742 Views)

Re: Vault 2013 - Can I use this with Inventor 2012?

05-07-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: karthur1

Kirk,

 

To have Inventor 2012 connect to 2013 Vault Server you will have to install the Vault 2012 client with the Inventor 2012 add-in.  This add-in will connect to the 2013 server.  You can install the Vault 2013 client side-by-side with the 2012 client.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,165
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 4 of 5 (733 Views)

Re: Vault 2013 - Can I use this with Inventor 2012?

05-07-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: ihayesjr

Irvin,

The vault backup that I have was made in Vault 2012.  Will I be able to restore the backup in ADMS 2013.  Never tried that before... just thinking that I would have to restore it with ADMS 2012 then uninstall ADMS 2012, install ADMS 2013 and migrate.

Board Manager
ihayesjr
Posts: 558
Registered: ‎02-01-2006
Message 5 of 5 (731 Views)

Re: Vault 2013 - Can I use this with Inventor 2012?

05-07-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: karthur1

Yes, you can restore your ADMS 2012 backup to an ADMS 2013 install.  After the restore is complete, it will migrate the database to 2013.



Irvin Hayes Jr
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community