Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Macro to check out a drawing, initial/date, check back in

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
thomasjhotz
1031 Views, 3 Replies

Macro to check out a drawing, initial/date, check back in

I am relatively new to the Vault experience.  At my previous job, I became pretty savy at building macros for excel to automate processes and find certain bits of information within report spreadsheets.  Those macros allowed me to be extremely efficient and decisive with my work (less time doing, more time evaluating and making objective decisions).

At my new job, one of my responsibilities is to check drawings.  The process usually consists of the following:

1. Review the drawing via Vault's preview display.

2. If the drawing is fine, check-out the drawing.

3. Open the drawing via Inventor and choose the project file.

4. Open iProperties within Inventor, then initial/date the drawing within the status tab.

5. Save and check-in the drawing.

6. Close and repeat.

Not going to complain if this is the only way to do it, but if it possible to develop a macro to automate this process, please point me in the direction.  If the macro could by-pass all this steps and allow me to focus my attention on checking the drawings themselves rather than clicking through pop-ups, I would be extremely happy (as well as a few co-workers who have to do the same process).

Please let me know of better ways to approach this process, it would be much appreciated.

Thomas

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
mikel_martin
in reply to: thomasjhotz

There are many ways this could be done with Vault depending on the which teir of the product you are using.