Vault General Discussion

Reply
Member
Cwogman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 1 of 4 (242 Views)
Accepted Solution

I can get other licenses on new server/new install, but not for Vault clients

242 Views, 3 Replies
10-09-2012 06:03 PM

Temporary server is our new Dell R620 with Win2008 R2 on it.    Everything appears fine, get obtain AutoCAD 2013 and Inventor 2013 licenses just fine, however Vault 2013 clients get "failed to obtain a license" message.   Firewall is turned completely off, IPv6 is off.

 

Note - when I ping the server name from the clients, I can see the server.   But when I ping the server from itself, I get "reply from ::1:"   I found this in the license.lic (I think that was it) and changed it to the correct IP, but that also did not work.

Employee
olearya
Posts: 650
Registered: ‎08-14-2008
Message 2 of 4 (220 Views)

Re: I can get other licenses on new server/new install, but not for Vault client

10-10-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: Cwogman

Hey there,

 

A couple of quick questions to clarify - is your VAult server on the same machine as the license server?  I am assuming so but not sure.

 

You mention modifying the lic file to include the IP Address - please note that the lic file works on Physical (Ethernet / MAC) address and server name not IP.  

 

Finally can you look at upgrading FLEXLM as part of this tech solution:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?id=10976858&linkID=9240618&siteID=123112



Allan
Product Manager
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Cwogman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2012
Message 3 of 4 (217 Views)

Re: I can get other licenses on new server/new install, but not for Vault client

10-10-2012 10:06 AM in reply to: olearya

Found the issue - it is the Windows Server 2008 R2 IPv6 biting again.   See Microsoft fix at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929852 and run the fix to place IPv4 before IPv6 on the server and the clients - actually any machine that will need to use Vault for any reason.

Employee
minkd
Posts: 471
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 4 of 4 (155 Views)

Re: I can get other licenses on new server/new install, but not for Vault client

10-15-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: Cwogman

Vault client / server communication can be any mix of IPv4 and IPv6 without issue.  The issue is the communication between the vault server and the license manager.  The license manager will only work with IPv4, unless you download the license manager that only works with IPv6.

 

-Dave



Dave Mink
Data Management
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
New button for Platinum & Gold Subscription customers
Gold & Platinum Subscription customers can alert Autodesk if they require assistance with their forum post

Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community