Community
Vault Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Vault Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Vault topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Autodesk Vault for 3ds max creating your own server

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
sykynko
476 Views, 3 Replies

Autodesk Vault for 3ds max creating your own server

Hello. I am new in using Vault and i want to ask an important question. Can I create my own server with Autodesk Vault ? I mean, using my own computer as a server...if yes, the server will be applied on one "static" IP address or "dynamic" IP address using several computers as the server, changing admistrator rights among e.g. two computers ?

One more thing, can Vault read data formats like exported fbx files, e.g. for Unity 3d or other engine softwares ?

thank a lot in advance

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
bpettus
in reply to: sykynko

We are using Vault 2013 with 3dsmax successfully. There are a few obstacles namely Windows Authentication login
does not work so you need to use a Vault login and in the event that you submit jobs to backburner, any x-refed max files will need to be inserted in the scene or present on the local vault folder of each render station prior to submittal.

Vault will accept any file type and will manage tracking on the texture maps, vray meshes and other children file formats. It is not comprehensive as of yet, but very effective for keeping files organized and I expect that as the integration evolves, it will become even more useful.

Message 3 of 4
papaf2
in reply to: bpettus