Vault Customization

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎06-22-2007
Message 1 of 5 (162 Views)

need help with my first plugin

162 Views, 4 Replies
07-02-2013 12:46 PM

1. using Autodesk Vault 2012

2. using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010

3. I located my dll and vcet.config files in C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Vault 2012\Extensions\BrdnHelloWorld\

 

problem is i can't get it to load, could someone please take a look at the code or give advice as to were i should place the 2 files.

 

Thanks,

 

Employee
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 2 of 5 (145 Views)

Re: need help with my first plugin

07-03-2013 04:52 AM in reply to: wowens63

The API documentation has an article called "How to customize Vault Explorer" in the Getting Started section.  That article should go over all the steps in creating a Vault Explorer plug-in.

 

I also have a video showing how to create a Vault Explorer plug-in starting with a blank Visual Studio project.



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

Valued Contributor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎06-22-2007
Message 3 of 5 (142 Views)

Re: need help with my first plugin

07-03-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: wowens63

Thanks for your reply..I watched your video yesterday and the code I posted is per your video, and thats why i posted my question cause i could not get it to work. as well I copied the HelloWorldVB code from the SDK and it also would not load.

 

Thanks again for the reply.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎06-22-2007
Message 4 of 5 (133 Views)

Re: need help with my first plugin

07-03-2013 07:21 AM in reply to: wowens63

FYI..from what i read today autodesk vault 2012 (Client) basic cant load custom commands..like helloworld.dll

 

from Autodesk vault SDK..

 

There are various ways to customize Vault Explorer through the API.  You can...

  • Add custom commands.
  • Add custom tabs.
  • Hide existing commands.
  • Subscribe to pre and post events when any Vault Explorer commands are executed.

Availability This feature is not available in base Vault.  Vault Workgroup, Vault Collaboration or Vault Professional is required.

Employee
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 5 of 5 (126 Views)

Re: need help with my first plugin

07-03-2013 09:30 AM in reply to: wowens63

Correct, you cannot plug-in to Vault Explorer if you are using Vault Basic.  Sorry, I missed that in your original post. 

If you want to write a custom feature, you have to write your own EXE.



Doug Redmond
Software Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.
http://justonesandzeros.typepad.com/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community