The Break Room (Non-Technical Discussions)
Non-technical discussions will be held here to give community members a chance to connect and get to know one another.

The Break Room (Non-Technical Discussions)

Reply
Active Member
olega
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
Message 1 of 8 (579 Views)

Default elevation of point previously entered.

579 Views, 7 Replies
01-10-2013 03:36 PM

"I am trying to figure out what the setting might be so that when creating points it will default to the last elevation entered. It defaults to the last description entered but it always comes up with <.> for the elevation"

 

This was posted by somebody else a year ago, and there was no exact answer. I'd like to add why this is important. For example: I do not want to use automatic point creation setting due to the fact that I need manually type the elevation for the first poin and then use the same elevations for only few points just clicking "Enter" before I type new elevation for the next row of points. In LDD the previously typed elevation always was shown inside <> as kind of default. This is true with description in Civil 3D but not with elevation. Why this is important? Because it saves time not typing the same elevation for 3-4 points over and over again reducing the risk of typing error. I have already check different settings but it doesn't work. I do not want to copy and paste the elevation text as somebody already suggested considering this is not the way to make it properly. Appreciate any tips.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 8 (574 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-10-2013 06:26 PM in reply to: olega

Civil Forums:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/ct-p/66

 

LDD Forum:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Land-Desktop/bd-p/83

 

Would one of these be more appropriate to your technical question?

'Cause were off the clock in here and got to finish the coffee before I even think about getting chained to that desk again.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Member
olega
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
Message 3 of 8 (548 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-11-2013 08:15 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

can't find any solution? Must be something...Do not beleive the civil 3d developers missed this part...

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,118
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 8 (547 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-11-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: olega

Charles is just saying that this is not the place to be asking this question - this forum is "Non-Technical" and intended for BS-ing, sort-of-speak. :smileywink: Follow one of the links that he provided and post your question in a more appropriate forum.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 8 (536 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-11-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: olega

Try pressing the UP arrow on your keyboard.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 6 of 8 (496 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-14-2013 04:01 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

*in the spirit of the forum - REALLY*

 

I'd take the "Dogberts Tech Support" approach to solving this problem:

1.  Uninstall the program

2.  Find the manual

3.  Place manual on chair

4.  Stand on top of manual and in a loud voice say "Please show me how to use <program name here>!"

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 8 (480 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-15-2013 04:55 AM in reply to: olega

See: This.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,772
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 8 (479 Views)

Re: Default elevation of point previously entered.

01-15-2013 04:59 AM in reply to: dgorsman

For some, sitting on the manual might be more appropriate. A more direct interface so to speak.

 

I have a shirt that says "When all else fails. Search the trash for the instructions".

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community