Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD rookie looking for advice please....

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
JC3282
562 Views, 5 Replies

AutoCAD rookie looking for advice please....

I am new to this AutoCAD Community and am exicted to see such a supportive forum available for all levels of users.

I am looking for some advice on how to futher my experience using AutoCAD.

Over the last couple of years I have completed my AutoCAD 2D Certificate through a local college in my area.  I have a full time job and did it on the side, online.  I learned a lot and now feel I have a basic knowledge of the program.  

I took this certificate program to see if I would like working with AutoCAD and to add it to my resume in hopes of maybe finding another career that primarily uses the program (or an entity of it) in some capacity.

WIth that being said, I am wondering if anyone has some advice on how I could go about getting practical experience using the program?  

Currently, the only experience I can get is just practicing by copying other drawings and examples I have.  I was hoping to get some more practical experience with a company or person that would give me some real life situations.

At this point, money isn't really a concern, just looking for the experience. 

My background is professional landscaping, as I am an Estimator for a large development/commercial landscape company here in Calgary.  I read architectural and landscape drawings all day everyday, so I am very familiar with reading technical plans.  I have worked in the industry for 10 years and have a Bachelor of Applied Science degree, majoring in landscape management.  However, I am open to any experience in any industry.