Community
The Community Room
The Community Room is a space to have conversations about anything you’d like to discuss with your fellow Engineers, Architects, Designers and basically all community members in here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Asking for Feedback about my Bike lock Invention

37 REPLIES 37
Message 1 of 38
Bickeylikey
1151 Views, 37 Replies

Asking for Feedback about my Bike lock Invention

Hey guys, my name's Liang I'm a college student and cyclist at USC. I've had three bikes stolen while at USC and it really pissed me off so now I'm doing something about it.

I've created a lock that specifically secures the wheels of a bike. It works by replacing the hex nuts or quick release skewers holding a bike in place. It's designed so none of the common theft tools (i.e. wrenches, vice grips, bolt cutters, flamethrowers, that laser gun from Goldeneye, etc.) can get through it or get any leverage on it.

The nut can only be tightened / loosened with the specific wrench that comes in each package. There are multiple variations of these nut:wrench combinations.

I'd love to get some feedback from you guys on the product, whether or not you'd use it, and any advice you have (from business/marketing ideas to product improvements).

Cheers,
-Liang

37 REPLIES 37
Message 2 of 38
Ray_Feiler
in reply to: Bickeylikey

Looks great Smiley Happy

Product Design & Manufacturing Collection 2024
Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
Message 3 of 38
mrattray

Are you familiar with wheel locks for cars? Looks like a similar idea, and they are very common.
I'm not sure though how this is a better idea than looping a cable through the frame. I mean, you still need to secure the bike to a fixed object to prevent someone from simply riding it away or throwing it in the back of a truck. Isn't the cable that's used to secure the bike the weak point?
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Message 4 of 38
LT.Rusty