Discussion Groups

Simulation Moldflow Insight

Reply
Contributor
lznv0f
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

345 Views, 6 Replies
04-09-2012 11:01 AM

Wondering if anyone knows "why" when you set a beam size it shows much larger when the results are plotted. I know my customers will ask why the gates appear to be so large in the results.

 

Please see the attached pictures.

 

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
toofewfish
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-09-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: lznv0f

This has been reported as a bug thru support, but yet to see a fix.. Very annoying to explain to your customers time after time.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
tim.vanast
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎07-17-2009

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-10-2012 05:47 AM in reply to: lznv0f

but the results are correct for the size you specified, not the large size that is seen in the output plots.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
PascalGosset
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎06-18-2010

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-10-2012 06:00 AM in reply to: tim.vanast

To Tim : it's false !

The results correspond to the gate section seen by Moldflow (a square) not the one you drawned (rectangular).

If you want to simulate a fan gate, modelize it using dual domain mesh and not beams.

"Maybe Moldflow does not work properly, but the real world neither."
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
tim.vanast
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎07-17-2009

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-10-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: PascalGosset

Interesting, I was told by MF support that it calculates correctly.  I'll have to run a case study to see.

 

Thanks,

Tim

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor
toofewfish
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-10-2012 07:24 AM in reply to: lznv0f

It's only a display issue. I've ran many, many analysis over the last year and half with this visual issue. The assigned properties are used for calulations, not the visual size... otherwise the results would be completely screwed up...

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
PascalGosset
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎06-18-2010

Re: Tooling graphics not inline with dimensions

04-10-2012 07:54 AM in reply to: toofewfish

Sorry, I'm maybee wrong.

I tried to find an example and it doesn't work as I thought.

"Maybe Moldflow does not work properly, but the real world neither."
Please use plain text.