Discussion Groups

Simulation Moldflow Insight

Reply
Contributor
MFI-MaF
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-17-2013

Insert Overmolding

635 Views, 10 Replies
07-31-2013 05:52 AM

Hi,

 

I want to simulate a overmolding-process, with an insert out of metal. I've changed the insert-mesh property type to "Insert Part". But when the simulation runs, it filles the insert volume. What am I doing wrong?

 

Thanks for help :-)

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
MFI-MaF
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-17-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-01-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: MFI-MaF

Sorry, i forget to say, just the part of the insert volume, which is inside the "polymer"-volume gets filled, not the volume outside. I tink the problem ist the there are two meshes overlayed.

I've made a picture to show you what i mean.

 

Hope you can help me.

Please use plain text.
Member
Piotr.Gorczyca
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-05-2013 06:27 AM in reply to: MFI-MaF

Hi Markus!

It seems that your mesh is bad.
Take your CAD model, subtract insert (white) from polymer (green).
Then mesh both of them, ensuring right contact between them.

In the end You shouldn´t have any intersecting elements.


Hope that I described it quite clear :-) 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
MFI-MaF
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-17-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-05-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: MFI-MaF

Hi,

 

I've deleted the parts of the polymer-model, wish had been "mixed" with the inlay, in my CAD tool. Then I meshed both seperate and changed the inlay properties. Is that what you mean? It would be nice, if Moldflow would see that it should not mix the meshes at complex parts.

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Member
Piotr.Gorczyca
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-05-2013 11:50 PM in reply to: MFI-MaF

If You meshed them separetly, then You need to ensure perfect contact between the insert and the part.
If You will mesh them together, You can use option `Precise match` - and MF will do it for You.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
prabu27
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-22-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-29-2013 04:29 AM in reply to: MFI-MaF

how to insert in moldflow

Please use plain text.
Active Member
ucornes
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-28-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-29-2013 04:46 AM in reply to: Piotr.Gorczyca
@Piotr, but this is not always so "precise", is it?
Please use plain text.
Member
Piotr.Gorczyca
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-05-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-30-2013 12:43 AM in reply to: ucornes

@ucornes: it depends with what kind of models You are dealing with.
I notice that with a small and simple parts, 'precise match' is working pretty fine.
Big parts with a complicated geometry (in the contact area) and we can expect that it will not work or You will need to correct a huge amount of elements.
The question is also with which MF version You are working with. My personal feeling is, that between MF11 and MF13 they made some improvements in this field. How is it working in MF14 - I have no idea (yet).

Please use plain text.
Active Member
ucornes
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-28-2013

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-30-2013 12:54 AM in reply to: MFI-MaF

Well, I actually work on MF14. I design plastic parts for small appliances, which have really complex surfaces and what I have seen is that I will have to continue copying and pasting and stitching meshes...:smileyfrustrated:

Please use plain text.
Product Support
nordhb
Posts: 453
Registered: ‎03-23-2009

Re: Insert Overmolding

08-30-2013 03:38 AM in reply to: ucornes

Hi,
have a look at this topic for similar discussion/comments:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Simulation-Moldflow/Meshing-assembly/td-p/4351696

 

Reagards,

Berndt



Berndt Nordh
Please use plain text.