Discussion Groups

Simulation Moldflow Insight

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2010

AMSA workflow using AMA with AMI mesh

325 Views, 2 Replies
05-04-2012 03:06 AM

Dear all,

 

I have a question regarding the workflow of using AMSA for ANSYS - I refer to AMSA 2012 and ANSYS 12.1.

 

Everything is working fine if I'm using only AMA. In this case my workflow looks like this:

 

Open project in ANSYS APDL --> export as .mpa project --> meshing and solving the model using AMA --> import solution using AMSA wizard and solve with ANSYS --> no problem at all

 

For most of our usual moldflow studies (= without AMSA) we are using AMI Synergy to create a refined mesh, export it as .amm and solve using AMA. Unfortunately, I've not yet succeded to combine this procedure with an AMSA analysis.

 

I tried the following workflow:

 

Open project in ANSYS APDL --> export as .mpa project --> delete the model geometry in the AMA project and re-add the same geometry as an opimized AMI mesh using an .amm-file --> solve using AMA --> import to ANSYS APDL via AMSA wizard fails due to a "not matching" model

 

I don't understand this error because the geometry I used for meshing with AMI is the EXACT SAME stl file which is generated by the AMSA export wizard.

 

So my final question is: Is it possible to use AMSA together with AMA AND an AMI mesh and if yes, how would the workflow look like?

 

Just to clarify, an AMI solver license is not available so using only AMI for solving is not possible.

 

Many thanks in advance,

Kocherpele

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎08-25-2008

Re: AMSA workflow using AMA with AMI mesh

05-04-2012 02:25 PM in reply to: Kocherperle

I have not used AMSA for ANSYS for sometime but you certainly should be able to export ANYS mesh as an AMI project.

Please use plain text.
New Member
TMarques
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-02-2011

Re: AMSA workflow using AMA with AMI mesh

02-19-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: Kocherperle

Hello Kocherperle,

 

I know it's been a while but...

 

Have you tried to:

 

Open project in ANSYS APDL --> export as .stl ->  meshing the model using AMI & export *.amm --> Import *.amm to AMA to solve -> import t import solution using AMSA wizard and solve with ANSYS

 

I don't have Ansys so I can't say that it will work, but it make sense to me.

Please use plain text.