Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Active Contributor nmt
Active Contributor
nmt
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-11-2006

sub modelling

295 Views, 3 Replies
12-07-2012 10:48 AM

Hello,

I read something in the thread about fatigue wizard that there is a way to do analysises on sub models in Sim mechanical.

Is there someone who knows about the workflow?

I am aware that it might not be "straight forward", but it is neither in some competitive softwares.

This would be very useful, hope someone have some answers.

Best regards/

H. Nilsson

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
eray.kayar
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: sub modelling

12-14-2012 12:27 AM in reply to: nmt

It is interesting to see that there are no responses on such obvious items. As if there is not anything called submodeling?

There is all the technology to carry it out and still no response.

Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
dharhay
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎04-11-2008

Re: sub modelling

12-20-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: nmt

I have heard that sub modeling is not in favor these days.  We have so much computing power, solid modeling is available, etc. that you can make a small model of your area very quickly.  I am sure there are others who can add other reasons.

Dave H
Please use plain text.
Active Contributor nmt
Active Contributor
nmt
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-11-2006

Re: sub modelling

12-20-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: dharhay
If you want to do a detailed fatigue analysis of some certain area of a bigger structure, especially welds it is very conveniant to at first run an analysis with a fairly coarse mesh. Then make a sub model of the area of interest, applying deformations from the first run as boundary conditions. To make an analysis according to the effective notch method it requires a fillet radius 1 mm around the weld toes, Furthermore the fillets should have about 5 elements over the radius. This method is well described in litterature. Such analyses would be almost impossible to run directly on a large model witout the sub-modelling approach. My question is how to get the deformations from the first run and correctly apply it to the submodel in the second run. Perhaps by a script? Ansys have had this capability since long ago, after what I have heared also Solidworks (Cosmos) has the capability in its newest release. Best regards / H. Nilsson.
Please use plain text.