Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
madg1
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

beam offset

127 Views, 2 Replies
10-18-2012 07:44 AM

Hi all

can we offset a beam element along local coordiante system?.....say local 1 axis

madg1
ASIMM 2012
Please use plain text.
Member
JWttengineering
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-01-2011

Re: beam offset

10-18-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: madg1

Beam offsets are defined using the global coordinate system. Thus, even if you select the endpoints of a line (beam) and define those nodes to belong to a local coordinate system, the input for the beam offset does not allow you to select the local coordinate system, prior to defining the Dx, Dy and/or Dz.

 

However regardless of the coordinate system, the input for the i and j nodes of the beam represent a vector, with both magnitude and direction, so the values to be input require one coordinate system transformation.

 

It would be a nice enhancement, though, to have the option to select a different coordinate system.

 

-Jeff

 

 

Jeffrey Wanko, P.E.
Senior Engineer, FEA Lead Analyst
T&T Engineering Services, Inc.
Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
madg1
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Re: beam offset

10-22-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: JWttengineering

thank you jeff..

yes we can do that in global coordinate system....

But if you have a lattice structure with many lacings....it will be a difficult task to offset the elements at joints right?

I also use one more software(sacs) to do this stuff.But that got a very bad GUI with all features....ASIM got a very good GUI with some less features i guess....

madg1
ASIMM 2012
Please use plain text.