Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Member
HeylPatterson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-08-2011
Accepted Solution

analysis did not result in any stress results

476 Views, 11 Replies
12-09-2011 08:20 AM

hi!

 

long time reader first time poster :robothappy:

 

i recently installed 2012 suite. when i import inventor models, parts or assemblies, into simulation (algor) and run an analysis, i get the subject message. i have tried with several different models, even very simple parts. i looked through the analysis options thinking that maybe i just didn't have a box checked, but alas, no luck. the funny thing is i get displacement results. if you have displacements, you can calculate stresses.

 

has anyone else had this problem?

 

thank you for the help.

Please use plain text.
Employee
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 11:11 AM in reply to: HeylPatterson

When talking about no stress, do you mean zero-stress or nothing?

Is this Linear, frequency analysis or MES?

 

I guess there might be some analysis type without stress output.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Member
HeylPatterson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 11:14 AM in reply to: S.LI

i mean no results, nothing. it is a simple linerar static analysis.

Please use plain text.
Employee
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 11:18 AM in reply to: HeylPatterson

Got it.

For LSS, there should be stress shown.

Could you please share one of your model here, given that this happened even in the simple model?

 

Thanks.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Member
HeylPatterson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 11:55 AM in reply to: S.LI

this is the simple model. it is a tube with a pressure inside and supported at one end. as simple as it gets :smileywink:

 

change the extension to .fem, i changed it to .doc in order to upload it. the autodesk discussion boards do not allow .fem files :mansurprised:

Please use plain text.
Employee
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 12:11 PM in reply to: HeylPatterson

only fem file is not enough, and you have to achive the whole model.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Member
HeylPatterson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 12:54 PM in reply to: S.LI

check!

 

again, change the extension to .ach

Please use plain text.
Employee
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 01:06 PM in reply to: HeylPatterson

It runs well in my ASIM2012 with both displacement and stress.

From your log file, I saw the model in your machine is:

Q:\Bulk Contracts\6883 - FLSmidth\Inventor\SAC\thrust roller bracket tube.ds_data\1\ds

 

I'm not sure if it's too long for stress calculation module (mknso.exe).

 

Please copy it to a simple directory, such as c:\temp, and have a try.

 

Good luck.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If this response answers your concern, please mark it as "solved".
Please use plain text.
Member
HeylPatterson
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-08-2011

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-09-2011 01:51 PM in reply to: S.LI

lol, that did it. three days i was looking for a technical error, rying to run it on a colleagues computer, checking material props, etc.

 

and this is the problem :robotsurprised:  lol

 

thanks for the help.

Please use plain text.
Employee
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎03-25-2010

Re: analysis did not result in any stress results

12-12-2011 07:16 AM in reply to: HeylPatterson

Hi Heyl,

 

Is the Q: drive where you originally had your model a network drive? I do not know why that would affect the stress calculation, but I think this is the reason for the behavior you were seeing. (It is not unusual for companies to keep their CAD models on a network drive where everyone can access them. By default, the simulation model is put in the same location.) The software supports paths of approximately 240 characters.

 

 

Sincerely,
John Holtz, P.E.
Senior User Experience Designer, Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Current version of Mechanical & Multiphysics: 2013 SP1 (2013.01.00.0012 28-Jun-2012)
Please use plain text.