Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to simulate an ultrasonic sonotrode

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
antolifauria
2605 Views, 14 Replies

Trying to simulate an ultrasonic sonotrode

Dear All,

My name is Antoli and I'm an engineering student from Spain. I'm involved in a project about ultrasounds in my university and I'm trying to simulate the ultrasonic equipment. This equipment is composed of a piezoelectric transducer (energy source), a booster and a sonotrode. The transducer has fixed frequency and fixed amplitude, and the booster and the sonotrode only amplify this amplitude. Both have to be tuned in the transducer frequency.

I know that simulate the piezoelectric transducer is very difficult, for this reason my idea would be to replace the transducer by its corresponding movement (amplitude: 20um, frequency: 20kHz) in order to get the amplitude at the end of the sonotrode.

I've done a simple natural frequency analysis but this isn't a correct approach for my application.

Could you give me some advice to simulate my equipment? Which would be the best way to success?

Thank you very much!

Antoli Fauria

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15

Antoli --

You can indeed do this by natural frequency (modal) analysis. If you know (or can determine) the gain of your booster Gb, then the input amplitude to the sonotrode Uinput is 20um*Gb. For the following example, assume Gb = 1.5 so Uinput = 30um.

With the above information you can run a modal analysis of the sonotrode alone. (Depending on your circumstance you may want to include the booster. However, this is usually not needed unless you are concerned with the booster's isolation mount or unless you don't  know the booster's gain.)