Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Speedboat Floating/Simulation

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
oak_roberts
1117 Views, 8 Replies

Speedboat Floating/Simulation

I'm new to Simulation Multiphysics and am trying to simulate a watercraft I'm designing in Inventor, for ease sake I'm going to work on simulating a generic speedboat.

Ideal outcome: to find out how much drag a particular hull shape has, and posibly the potential speed of the craft determined by the force the hull is being 'pushed' through the water. Would Simulation simulate the hull raising up onto the 'plane' as it gains speed?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, Kind regards, Oak Roberts

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Joey.X
in reply to: oak_roberts

For drag force on surface vehicles, refer to a previous ASIM/MP thread  Drag on a kayak

Jianhui Xie, Ph.D
Principal Engineer
MFG-Digital Simulation
Message 3 of 9
oak_roberts

I'd found that but thought it may be different with simulating the force of the engine, or is it worked out the other way, set speed, then find the drag then work out the power needed to overcome the drag? I'll have a more in depth read of the kayaks thread.

Thanks

Message 4 of 9
Joey.X

My point is that ASIM/MP can't do the drag force for  speedboat's drag force, since the force of wave dominates in drag force and ASIM/MP does not handle that.

Jianhui Xie, Ph.D
Principal Engineer
MFG-Digital Simulation
Message 5 of 9
oak_roberts
in reply to: Joey.X