Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-03-2009

Solid Edge Add-In

233 Views, 4 Replies
10-10-2012 07:19 AM

I use Autodesk Simulation with Solid Edge.  In the past (ASIM 2012) a menu selection in appeared in my SE menu "Autodesk Simulation".  This menu selection allowed me from Solid Edge to lauch Simulation 2012 and pulled in the model.  I installed Simulation 2013 and this menu selection is gone.  Does anyone know how to get it back?

Please use plain text.
Employee
Sualp.Ozel
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎10-27-2009

Re: Solid Edge Add-In

10-10-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: parmony

This option does not exist in Autodesk Simulation Mechanical 2013. In the 2013 release Simulation Mechanical is using an Autodesk tool called Inventor Server to import CAD geometry. This tool allows the users to open new file types such as CATIA, CREO, JT, NX, Parasolid. However, interoperability with SolidEdge is not included in this release. 

 

For more information on this topic please refer to the following link:

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Simulation_Mechanical/enu/2013/Help/0031-Autodesk31/0106-Open_Mod106/01...

 

Best Regards

Sualp Ozel, PE

Product Manager

Digital Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Please use plain text.
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-03-2009

Re: Solid Edge Add-In

10-10-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: Sualp.Ozel

That is disappointing to hear.  I guess this is just another reason to stop using Autodesk products.  Once our maintenance runs out we'll move on to something better.

Please use plain text.
Employee
Sualp.Ozel
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎10-27-2009

Re: Solid Edge Add-In

10-10-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: parmony

Keep in mind that you can save your SolidEdge files as a universal CAD file such as STEP or SAT and open them in Inventor Fusion or Simulation Mechanical 2013 directly.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-03-2009

Re: Solid Edge Add-In

10-10-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: parmony

Lets see we were using Autodesk Simulation Mechanical 2012 and we could launch our simulation from a single menu pick inside Solid Edge.  Now we need to save our Solid Edge file, to save our work in the format we prefer, then save it again as a neutral file so we can then launch Autodesk Simulation Mechanical 2013 and do a file open and find that neutral file to start our simulation. Wow, that makes complete sense to me.  This must be Autodesk idea of continuous improvement.  Good job.

Please use plain text.