Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
Accepted Solution

Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

415 Views, 16 Replies
10-19-2013 12:20 AM

I have recently installed Simulation Mechanica on my computer, however, when I get the results, the elements plotted do not appear in a scale of colors (max-min displacement/stress/etc). The elements appear as in the editor, like if nothing had happened. However, when move to the next tab "report", the picture of the result displays all the colors along all elements.

 

I've searched online and I have found solutions in this forum, I have updated my graphics driver to the latest version and also have tried to get rid of "hardware acceleration" under the tool menu, however, this last part is not possible for me since the option is checked but greyed out.

 

I am using a macbook air 2013, I have windows 7 installed through bootcamp. 

 

The ilogical thing, is that it was working fine a week ago, I deleted a couple of Autodesk programs and the problem started, at that point I assumed that I could have messed something that I couldn't fixed, so I installed Windows 7 again & Simulation Mechanica again, sadly, the problem didn't go away.

 

Thanks in advance!

Please use plain text.
Product Support
KubliJ
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-22-2013 11:03 AM in reply to: luisito8m

Hello,

 

I can think of a few possibilites that you are seeing, can you send a screen shot showing the issue?

 

Thanks,

James



James Kubli


Please marked this as solved if your question has been answered.
Please use plain text.
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-22-2013 04:56 PM in reply to: KubliJ

Wrong.pngNode4Displacement.png

 

James,

 

Thanks for replying.

 

The first picture is Simulation Mechanica, there is no gamma of colors that correlate the Leyend about displacement magnitude. The second picture is Algor (FEMPRO), with the gamma of colors correctly displaced (different computer).

 

I have contacted customer support, however, they are not able to help me since this is free educational software.

 

I have also contacted the manufacturer of my computer and performed a hardware test, the graphics card/chip/processor works fine.

 

Thanks for all your help!

Luis

Please use plain text.
Product Support
KubliJ
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-16-2011

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 05:07 PM in reply to: luisito8m

As a test, can you right click on part one in the results environment and verify that show results is checked?



James Kubli


Please marked this as solved if your question has been answered.
Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 05:59 PM in reply to: luisito8m

First off, there are no color representing the displacements in the first image because you are displaying the Axial Stress, not the displacements. :smileyhappy:

 

Okay, forget the attempt at humor. The next thing to try is "Tools > Application Options > Results". One of the buttons (I never remember which one it is, and I do not have the software at the moment) includes options to use "boxes" at the end of each element or to color the entire line (the default). Does it make a difference if you change those options?

 

Next, results can be shown in multiple windows,which are named "Presentations" in the software. Each analysis type has some pre-configured windows available. Click one of the entries under the "Saved Presentations" branch of the browser. Does this show the color?

 

I believe this issue has come up before. If you have not searched this forum, you might want to do that, too.

 

If you haven't already, I suggest that you do a different model using bricks or plates. These results will be on a surface, not on a line.

 

 

John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

16 years experience with Simulation Mechanical
Please use plain text.
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 06:09 PM in reply to: AstroJohnPE

John, 

 

Thanks for replying to my message, will definitely try all your ideas.

 

About the first image, I am simply showing that the gamma of colors is not showing regardless of axial stress, displacement, reaction forces, moments, you name it. But I will try to upload a picture where both of the simulations are the same.

 

Have already search the forums, I found some solutions, however, none resolved my issue, some of the solutions that I found were written by you as a matter of fact.

 

Will get back with the results from my findings on your ideas.

 

Thanks!

Luis

Please use plain text.
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 07:51 PM in reply to: KubliJ

James,

 

I have checked the setting you asked me to, eveything seems to be as expected, all checked in.

 

Here is a picture:

 

RightClickPart1.png

 

Let me know if this helps.

 

Thanks!

Luis

Please use plain text.
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 08:01 PM in reply to: AstroJohnPE

John,

 

I have checked all the settings, nothing worked.

 

Here are some pictures:

 

1. Changing from lines to boxes didn't help.

 

Line.png

 

The above picture is with "lines".

 

Boxes.png

 

The above picture is with "boxes".'

 

Below: Under the Saved Presentation, nothing changes the color.

 

SavedPresentations1.png

 

Above picture: Deformed (under saved presentations)

 

SavedPresentations2.png

 

Above picture: displacement. (Under saved presentations)

 

Lastly, I would try using bricks or plates as you are suggesting, however, my knowledge does do that far. I am starting to learn the basics of Finite Element Analysis, the "most complicated" structure that I can make is a beam with a supported spring, or a tetrahedron (3D), only lines, no surfaces.

 

What you see in the pictures is a beam with 1 pin and 2 rollers, I did it during today's lecture.

 

Let me know if the pictures give you a better insight.

 

Thanks for your great help!

Luis

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 499
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-23-2013 08:26 PM in reply to: luisito8m

I missed a step (or more?) in my description. Just clicking on an entry under the "Saved Presentation" branch does not open a new window. (The results windows that are currently opened are listed under "Presentations", and it shows only 1 window is opened.) Please right-click on one of the saved presentations. One of the options on the pop-up menu will be to activate the presentation, open the presentation, or something like that.

 

You know you are successful when the list of "Presentations" includes "2 < Unnamed >".

 

John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

16 years experience with Simulation Mechanical
Please use plain text.
Active Member
luisito8m
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-19-2013

Re: Simulation Mechanica Not Working Properly

10-24-2013 09:01 AM in reply to: AstroJohnPE

John,

 

Did what you asked, the displacements still do not show & the deformation is now black and red but without a leyend. Either way doesn't look right.

 

Here are some pictures:

 

ActivatedDeformedShaped1.png

 

AtivatedDisplacment1.png

 

Thanks!

Luis

Please use plain text.