Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to multiphysics, trying to simulate a hotrunner " quickly "

0 REPLIES 0
Message 1 of 1
Anonymous
279 Views, 0 Replies

New to multiphysics, trying to simulate a hotrunner " quickly "

Hey guy's I'm new to multiphysics so i need the basic knowlege.

First let me explain it,
For my work i need to " quickly "  simulate a hotrunner system.
Basicly it is a heated tube inside a mold to overcome a distance inside the mold.
And i need to know the temperature and flow of the plastic wich runs through it.

Were working with thermal sensitve material.

I've designed a simple mold in inventor ( block minus the hotrunner via derive ) and made the hotrunner in an assembly. Wich are a view sketched tubes (revolved)
I've put those two in a new assembly to simulate so i have 7 parts. ( 1. the mold / 2 tm 7. seperate hotrunner parts )

Specs:
Mold 80C (degree)
Shot temp 230C
Heating 250C
Flowspeed 2700mm/s

I've started multiphysics and opend the assembly. And selected Steady coupled fluid flow and thermal.
First off selecting the parts and set the element type to tetrahedron, and checked the materials.
Then i inserted water inside. Selecting the front and back of the hotrunner and the inside of the hotrunner. And made the element 3-d flow, selected water from the database as material ( ther are no plastics in my student database ) but for a quick look at how it works it will do.
Then i edited the analasys type, setting the main parameters with 20C and standard gravity.
Then for flow i set the solution to 7 ( ive got 8 and did minus 1 ) cores, the same for thermal with the default node to 240

And started with the loads and contrains, started with the in/out lets ( selecting the surface of the water and start end end point )