Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Active Member
randymusk
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-17-2013

Meshing a box beam

75 Views, 3 Replies
04-02-2013 02:26 AM

Is there a way to mesh a box beam constructed of  4 plates, each a different part for detailing purposes? The mesh does not intersect at plate intersections, but each plate meshes individualy. I am not including the weld, just the plates. I design welded structures every day and need to be able to do this. Is there another package that will do this?

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Meshing a box beam

04-02-2013 06:39 AM in reply to: randymusk

Yes.

 

But can you attach an image showing a close-up of the mesh so that we can see how it matches or doesn't? It depends on several factors, such as

  1. The size of the mesh compared to the thickness of the plate
  2. The gap between the plates, whether it is zero or some small value (for welds)
  3. The setting under "Setup > Model Setup > Parameters > Contact > Smart Contact".
John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

16 years experience with Simulation Mechanical
Please use plain text.
Active Member
randymusk
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-17-2013

Re: Meshing a box beam

04-02-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: randymusk

This easy attempt is no welds at all, with no gap and std mesh density whatever default is. How do I snap a picture, and where does it go so I can find it? CRL ALT PRT SC or something?

Please use plain text.
Valued Mentor
AstroJohnPE
Posts: 501
Registered: ‎08-30-2012

Re: Meshing a box beam

04-02-2013 06:09 PM in reply to: randymusk

"File > Export > Image", where "File" is the big "S" button in the top left corner.

John Holtz, PE
Mechanical Engineer
Pittsburgh, PA

16 years experience with Simulation Mechanical
Please use plain text.