Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mechanical event simulation

23 REPLIES 23
SOLVED
Message 1 of 24
pugAA
2570 Views, 23 Replies

Mechanical event simulation

Hello,
I'm a student and I have never used Algor before.
I'm trying to model a calandering process and I'm encountering the following problems:
- I can't simulate the rotation of the top cylinder;
- I can't model the surface contact between the parts (when friction contact is assigned, there's no convergence at all).
- When I try to simulate only the press-fit operation (without the rotation of the cylinder) with friction contact I have penetration of the parts.

I hope to clearly explain the problem.

Thanks,

Angelo

Edited by: PugAA on May 31, 2010 12:00 PM Edited by: PugAA on May 31, 2010 12:01 PM
23 REPLIES 23
Message 2 of 24
pugAA
in reply to: pugAA

Here is the .fem file
Message 3 of 24
John_Holtz

Hi Angelo,

Unfortunately, the .FEM file is not the complete input. To get the complete model, you should use the "File > Archive" command, and then provide the resulting .ACH file. (Things that are missing are the material properties, all of the surface-to-surface contact definitions, and all of the Analysis > Parameters.)

But I could see enough of the model to make the following suggestions. (I assume that the two smaller cylinders are on the bottom, and the one larger cylinder is on the top.)

1. The top cylinder will not rotate because it is rigidly held in translation in X, Y, Z. In order to "rotate", the nodes need to translate in space. In particular, three points not in a straight line fixed in Tx, Ty, Tz will fully prevent a part from any rigid body motion. (This is not just Finite Element Analysis; this is true of any type of structure.)