Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MES Problem

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
jmcternan
993 Views, 11 Replies

MES Problem

I cannot get the analysis to compete for a simple hinged valve model.  The model is too large to attach.  Is there a log file or somethng else I could attach?  It is a simple hinge that revovles around a pin and bushing.  The analysis will run, but will stop after about an hour, giving no resulsts.  Any help with is will be appreciated.  I am new to MES so it is probably an error in my setup.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
John_Holtz
in reply to: jmcternan

Hi,

You can view the log file from the Report environment. It is listed in the browser. But unless there is a warning or error message, the log file by itself will not be enough to determine what's going wrong. If there is a message about "Reached autotm limit", this page in the Help has some things to check in the model: Help > Autodesk Simulation > Setting Up and Performing the Analysis > Set Up Analyses Part 3 > Perform Analyses - Run Simulation > Perform Nonlinear Analyses

If possible, simplify the model down to the parts that are absolutely necessary. For example, the part with the load and anything attached (welded, bonded) to it. You may need to add some additional constraints to simulate other parts of the model. Will this simplified model run? If not, you have narrowed the problem down, and maybe the problem will be easier to find.

Otherwise, please read this message about sending models:

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius 😉
Message 3 of 12
jmcternan