Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inquire element stresses

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
sladisch
610 Views, 7 Replies

Inquire element stresses

Hi @all!

I'm quite new to Autodesk Simulation Mechanical and now i'm facing my first Problem.

How can I inquire element stresses (not nodal stresses) for one single element? If i choose one Element an click "inquire rersults" the window is empty. When I choose a node and say "inquire results" I can see the stress of all Elements connected to the node. But I want to have only the single result for the Element.

Does anybody knows a solution for that?

Best Regards from Germany

Stefan Ladisch

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
AstroJohnPE
in reply to: sladisch

Hi Stefan,

You can turn off (unhighlight) the command "Results Contours > Settings > Smooth Results" to get the element results.

Message 3 of 8
sladisch
in reply to: AstroJohnPE

Hi John,

with your method I can only see the results from multiple elements. But I need the results for a specific element. And the way to inquire the element number and then looking into the result list of the node isn't suitable because I'm  trying to automate my postprocessing using AutoIt.

Best Regards

Stefan

Message 4 of 8
AstroJohnPE

Hi Stefan,

Can you elaborate on the problem?

1. When you wrote "I can only see the results from multiple elements", do you mean that when you are in "Select > Selection > Element" mode and click on an element, you cannot select just one element?
  2. To specify a specific element, you can use the "Results Inquire > Inquire > Element Information" command and click the "Specify..." button. This will let you select the specified element. After it is selected, you can then inquire on the results.

Message 5 of 8
sladisch

Hi John,