Discussion Groups

Simulation Mechanical and Multiphysics

Reply
Member
eulerlipsia
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Importing Inventor models into Algor

586 Views, 9 Replies
02-24-2011 01:56 AM

I need to import an inventor 2011 model (only geometry) made by surfaces (not solids) into algor 2011. The inventor model is made by an inventor assembly model (foo.iam) and many inventor parts (foo?.ipt). When, from algor, i try to open the *.iam file i get the message "No parts to import in Inventyor model".

 

Does this mean that Inventor parts should be made  only by solids?

It is worth to note that when i try to import an inventor model made by solids  i have no problems!

 

thank you

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 316
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

02-24-2011 04:04 AM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Hi,

 

I have had some problems with this in the past, but in the 2011 version of Algor I haven't encountered any problems.

 

Have you made sure that they are visible? Deselecting "Visibility" in Inventor will exclude them from the import into Algor.

Please use plain text.
Active Contributor nmt
Active Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎04-11-2006

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

02-24-2011 09:59 PM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Hi, I have also ran into the same problem when using assembly files with surfaces.

If you instead are able to use a single part model consisting of several features, one for each surface you would be fine.

Regards / Håkan N.

Please use plain text.
Member
eulerlipsia
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

02-28-2011 12:13 AM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Well, i already have Algor 2011, and inventor 2011 but the problem persist. As soon as possible i will try the one part multiple features (surfaces ) option.

thank you.

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 316
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-01-2011 09:44 AM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Hmm, disregard my earlier post, it seems I have the problem when using assemblies, too. Not parts, though.

 

This model is too complicated to just make in one part, though.

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 316
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-01-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: bjorn_fallqvist

Hm, converting the assy to STEP and opening it directly seems to do the trick.

Please use plain text.
Member
eulerlipsia
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-01-2011 10:06 AM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Thank you Bjorn. Yes exporting in step or iges (with the option "trimmed surface") does the work, but it is astonishing that 2 Autodesk products need to pass through a third part format!!

Please use plain text.
Member
eulerlipsia
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-02-2011 12:01 AM in reply to: nmt

Hi Bjorn, this is to confirm that the one part-multiple surfaces  inventor model is correctly imported into algor. Thank you again.

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 316
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-02-2011 12:06 AM in reply to: eulerlipsia

Thanks. I guess we'll just have to wait for Autodesk to fix the assembly problem, then.

Please use plain text.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-29-2012

Re: Importing Inventor models into Algor

03-02-2012 10:47 AM in reply to: bjorn_fallqvist

Has there been a proper solution to this problem yet?  Working around the issue by saving as a step or iges file is not a true solution.

 

Autodesk?  Have addressed this issue because I am currently struggling the exact same problem?  Assembly models using shells/plate to not import into algor properly. 

Please use plain text.