Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a spring mass damper system in Multiphysics

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
9msl1
1451 Views, 4 Replies

How to make a spring mass damper system in Multiphysics

Hello

I'm new to autodesk simulation and I'm trying to make a simple spring mass damper system for my thesis project.  

As shown in  the figure, the masses will be connected to springs which will provide 3 natural freqeuncies and mode shapes.

My problem is that I can create rigid masses in Autosdesk simulation or use spring elements.  Every time I set the element types accordingly and mesh, they return to brick elements.  To make matters worse, when I set the masses as "rigid elemetn type" there is no input for a mass and therefore I can' get any mode shape or natural frequency data from the system.

How can I solve the problem?

Thanks very much!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
ilyas_drawbridge
in reply to: 9msl1

Hi,

Sometimes, the definition of the terms used in the software is not what we expect it to be. In this case, rigid element is actually an artificial element drawn inside the geometry to transfer loads from non-contacting surfaces. It is a line element and not a 3D element.

Back to your case, I recommend modeling the springs as lines set as spring elements and applying point mass at the nodes. Setup > Loads > Weight. I have no idea how to include damping in modal analysis.

Regards

Ilyas

Mass Spring.png

Message 3 of 5
AstroJohnPE

Hi 9msl1