Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficulty with Meshing for Heat Flux

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
wilson12
694 Views, 4 Replies

Difficulty with Meshing for Heat Flux

Hi everyone,

I'm extremely new at using Simulation Multiphysics. I downloaded it last week and ran through relevant tutorials. They haven't exactly what I need to know for this project I am attempting. The assembly can be available on Dropbox. I'm attempting to find the steady state heat flux.

This design is basically a case for a hot component inside and I want to determine the Heat Flux.

Some of the problems I am encountering:

I'm assuming I need to use a plate/shell 3d mesh on the outer 2 parts and the inside component is solid meshed.

I don't understand what to do for element type and element definition.

The inside part is going to be a heat source (arbitrary value) and the top and the 2 flat surfaces (front and back) of the case will be acted on through conduction of a heating/cooling plate. Even though it is conduction, should I still set it up as convection?

Part is attached or ask for DropBox access. Feel free to play around with it and send it back.

Thanks for any and all help!

-Andrew

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
AstroJohnPE
in reply to: wilson12

Hi Andrew,

One thing to keep in mind is the plate elements do not consider conduction through the thickness. Another way to state this is that the temperature is the same on both sides of the plate. So if your cover fits this condition, then you can use plate elements.

I think that you will figure out the element type and element definition after you mesh the part.