Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing the proper fluid flow for flowbench replication...

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
aparadis
378 Views, 3 Replies

Choosing the proper fluid flow for flowbench replication...

Alright, I would like to replicate a cylinder head flow test to analyze intake and exhaust runners of a cylinder head design. I'm not a complete novice to the software but would like to start from base 1 for guidance. The flowtest uses a 28in H2O depression across the cylinder head to produce air flow. The flowrate values get as high as 650cfm through an inner diameter of 4.5in resulting in turbulent air flow. Also when testing, the measured air velocity will always reach a maximum value and stay centered on that value. I have completed a solid model of intake port, combustion chamber, intake valve, and a small portion of the cylinder bore. 

Proposed Boundary Conditions:

Inlet: Zero Pressure, Zero Velocity, Enter the Prescribed Turbulence Entry Conditions

Exit: 28inH20 (about 1.01psi)  of depression, Turbulence Exit Conditions

Intended Output Data:

1. Air Velocity at exit

2. CFM  at exit

Mesh:

Boundary Layer, Exclude Inlet/Outlet from mesh

0. Are these boudary conditions okay

1. Should any changes be made to the solver or is there another solver that should be used?

2. Should I use Steady of Unsteady Analysis?

3. When inputting Analysis Parameters, how should a structure my load curve? What values and how many time steps should I input?

Note: I know that the curve of the air as it reaches its maximum velocity will look like an inverse function(x^1/4 or so). Ramps fast then slows as it approaches maximum velocity.