Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Applying beam offsets basics

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
rhkoncepts
522 Views, 1 Reply

Applying beam offsets basics

Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to Autodesk Simulation 2013, but I've been driving Inventor for a good while.

Can anyone point me to a "click by click" idiot guide instruction of how to apply an offset to a rectangular hollow section that is attached side on to a 3mm sheet section? I have tried solidly for 2 days and am totally baffled so I must be missing a fundamental point. What mesh type should it be? I.e.. shell/plate - midplane etc? For hours it kept reverting to "brick" after I repeatedly change it to "beam". So a brief run down of how to setup a basic RHS type beam would also be helpful because I'm really not sure what iI changed to maintain its "beam" type.

I have defined the RHS cross section, which seems correct.

Sorry to be ignorant but I got to start somewhere.

Pete.

Tags (3)
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
AstroJohnPE
in reply to: rhkoncepts

Hi Pete,

This is just a guess based on your description, but I think you are confusing the name of the element type with the terminology of your structure. I agree that the RHS (something hollow section?) is referred to as a beam in common engineering language, but that does not imply that the simulation must use beam elements as the element type.