Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

open face refrigerated display case air curtain (CFD)

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Thesinwe
1214 Views, 4 Replies

open face refrigerated display case air curtain (CFD)

First I would like to say I am very new to CFD simulations, but do have experience with FEA. I have worked through a few tutorials and I am left with a few issues in a simulation I am trying to run.

I am simulating a air curtain out of a open face refrigerator (see example picture of what I am trying to do). Some issues I am running into is that the velocity seems to drop off to quickly even with high arbitrary numbers. The air flow doesn't seem to want to flow into the open environment that I created and I am not sure what boundary conditions I am missing. I am having trouble modeling the temperatures as well. If anyone could help me out I would greatly appreciate it.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Jon.Wilde
in reply to: Thesinwe

Hi,

There are quite a few important points to make here, I apologise for the long list - make a cup of tea 🙂

1. You cannot apply internal surface Boundary Conditions (BC) - all of these need to be removed (the only internal BC's you can apply are to volumes where you have a heat loss/gain
  2. You do not actually have any internal air - there is no metal part separating the internal and external so you really just have one air volume with a few shelves floating within it
  3. To move the air - why not match reality more closely and model internal fans? You could make them cuboid to cover an array if necessary (just be sure to give them a 0 rpm if they are not cylindrical). They would also need a good uniform mesh - 5 elements from inlet to outlet