Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulated Reynolds numbers too small

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Alexander_Spranger
366 Views, 5 Replies

Simulated Reynolds numbers too small

Hi,

I am new to this program and I have problems simulating a moving bar through a water filled Tube.

I wanted to begin with simulating different Reynolds numbers to be sure that the settings I picked are working properly - also I thought that moving the bar would be more complicated than just letting the fluid flow around it. But when I tried to simulate flow with a Reynolds number of 70, I noticed that there is no visible vortex - it seems as if the Reynolds number is about 30. Adjusting the mesh and the color scheme didn't do any better.

Tube: 1 m long, 22 cm wide, 31 cm high

bar: 1 cm radius, 15.5 cm high (inserted from above)

I chose following settings:

boundary and initial conditions:

inlet: velocity, 3.15 mm/s, stationary

outlet: pressure, stationary

mesh size: automatic -> 36000 elements

solver: stationary or transient (tried both)

time step size: 0.1 - 1

inner iterations: 1 - 10

time steps to run: 250 - 2500

Did I do any fatal mistake? I used the help function but didn't find something that helped me solve my problem.

I really would appreciate any help. Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6

Why do you use motion here instead of just streaming the flow around the static bar?

Motion adds some major disadvantages like bigger runtimes and worse accuracy.

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Marco Müller
Application Engineer Digital Simulation
Mensch und Maschine Deutschland GmbH
www.mum.de/cfd

Message 3 of 6

Sorry for the misunderstanding, but I did try to simulate the flow around the static bar.

Message 4 of 6

Hi Alexander,